Social History Curators' Group
What it does
The Social History Curators Group (SHCG) exists to advance the education of the public in heritage, science and the arts by advancing standards of social history curatorship. We provide information, support and training to enable those responsible for caring for social history collections to use these collections for the public benefit and work to promote the importance of these collections.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN HERITAGE, SCIENCE AND THE ARTS ADVANCING STANDARDS OF SOCIAL HISTORY CURATORSHIP BY ENCOURAGING BETTER CARE, MANAGEMENT, RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT OF COLLECTIONS AND DELIVERY OF IMPROVED USE, ACCESS AND INTERPRETATION OF MUSEUM AND RELATED COLLECTIONS THROUGH PUBLIC-FACING OUTPUTS SUCH AS EVENTS, EXHIBITION, PARTICIPATIVE PROJECTS FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Scotland
- Northern Ireland
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £8,956 and spent £7,794.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £8,956 | £7,794 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £10,026 | £9,748 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £13,897 | £11,487 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £7,176 | £5,772 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £11,047 | £6,063 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 19%, from £11,047 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £8,956 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 87% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
12 trustees run the charity.
- Samantha Jane DaisleyChair
- Ailsa Stephanie Hendry
- Alexandra Longrigg
- Amy Elizabeth Foulds
- Anna Marie Robson
- Daniel Stoker
- Frances Elizabeth Stovold
- Louise McAward-White
- Maeve Catherine Cadden
- Muriel Bryans
- Rebecca Davies
- Samuel Jack Carter
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 17 December 2025, 45 days early | Received 17 December 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 18 December 2024, 44 days early | Received 18 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 29 January 2023, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 17 January 2022, 14 days early | Received 17 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1157994
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 24 July 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - Association Registered 24 Jul 2014
- Website
- shcg.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.