Space4u Cardiff
What it does
At a central location, Space4U Cardiff Drop-in provides a comfortable and welcoming meeting place for people seeking asylum and those who are refugees. Provision includes recreational and learning activities, refreshments, English classes, help, information and signposting , and clothing and food stores.
Its charitable purposes
1. THE RELIEF OF PROBLEMS CAUSED BY FINANCIAL HARDSHIP AMONGST THOSE SEEKING ASYLUM AND THOSE GRANTED REFUGEE STATUS AND THEIR DEPENDANTS LIVING (TEMPORARILY OR PERMANENTLY) IN CARDIFF AND THE SURROUNDING AREA ;2. TO PRESERVE AND PROTECT THE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH OF THOSE SEEKING ASYLUM AND THOSE GRANTED REFUGEE STATUS AND THEIR DEPENDANTS;3. TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION AND TRAINING OF THOSE SEEKING ASYLUM AND THOSE GRANTED REFUGEE STATUS AND THEIR DEPENDANTS IN NEED THEREOF SO AS TO ADVANCE THEM IN LIFE AND ASSIST THEM TO ADAPT WITHIN A NEW COMMUNITY;4. TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN GENERAL ABOUT THE ISSUES RELATING TO REFUGEES AND THOSE SEEKING ASYLUM ; AND5. THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE OF THOSE PERSONS WHO HAVE NEED OF SUCH FACILITIES BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE, INFIRMITY OR DISABLEMENT, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES, PRIMARILY THOSE SEEKING ASYLUM AND THOSE GRANTED REFUGEE STATUS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 May 2026, it had income of £44,626 and spent £26,883.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2026 | £44,626 | £26,883 | Not reported | 55 |
| 31 May 2025 | £22,494 | £29,379 | Not reported | 54 |
| 31 May 2024 | £30,939 | £31,911 | Not reported | 49 |
| 31 May 2023 | £23,374 | £15,978 | Not reported | 39 |
| 31 May 2022 | £9,700 | £11,820 | Not reported | 22 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 360%, from £9,700 in the year to 31 May 2022 to £44,626 in the year to 31 May 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 60% of its income in the year to 31 May 2026. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 May 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £21,038.
By funder
- Community Foundation in Wales£12,000, 2 grants
- Allen Lane Foundation£6,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£3,038, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 25 Feb 2025 | Community Foundation in Wales | £6,000 |
| 6 Mar 2024 | Community Foundation in Wales | £6,000 |
| 1 Mar 2023 | Allen Lane Foundation | £6,000 |
| 19 Nov 2015 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,038 |
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Samuel George Parker
- Dr Susan Veronica White
- Lynne Elizabeth Thomas
- Majid Golzari
- Mrs Jenny Mcdowell
- Vina Patel
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2026 | 31 March 2027 | Received 1 October 2026, 181 days early | Received 1 October 2026 |
| 31 May 2025 | 31 March 2026 | Received 18 September 2025, 194 days early | Received 18 September 2025 |
| 31 May 2024 | 31 March 2025 | Received 16 September 2024, 196 days early | Received 16 September 2024 |
| 31 May 2023 | 31 March 2024 | Received 14 December 2023, 108 days early | Received 14 December 2023 |
| 31 May 2022 | 31 March 2023 | Received 18 November 2022, 133 days early | Received 18 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1158327
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 22 August 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - Foundation Registered 22 Aug 2014
- Website
- www.space4ucardiff.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.