Pembroke & Monkton Local History Society
What it does
The aims of the organisation are to To establish a Local History Society in Pembroke and Monkton To raise public awareness of the heritage of these communities To research, record and disseminate the history of Pembroke and Monkton To encourage community participation To support Pembroke Museum
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE HISTORICAL HERITAGE OF PEMBROKE AND MONKTON, IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY, RAISING THE AWARENESS OF THE HERITAGE OF PEMBROKE AND MONKTON, RESEARCHING, RECORDING AND DISSEMINATING INFORMATION AND THE SUPPORT OF A MUSEUM IN THE TOWN OF PEMBROKE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Pembrokeshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £14,917 and spent £9,704.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £14,917 | £9,704 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2024 | £17,646 | £16,596 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2023 | £24,615 | £13,554 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2022 | £41,034 | £21,058 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 December 2021 | £73,018 | £42,758 | Not reported | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 80%, from £73,018 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £14,917 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 65% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £1,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £1,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £10,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2012, worth at least £34,300.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 1 Jun 2021 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £4,500 |
| 25 Jan 2018 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £10,000 |
| 28 Apr 2016 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £9,900 |
| 15 Jun 2012 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £9,900 |
Trustees
12 trustees run the charity.
- LINDA ANNE ASMAN BSc CertEdChair
- Ann Elizabeth Mary Lankshear
- Ann Elizabeth Mortenson
- George Palmer
- Jill Ensom
- john hyam
- Mary Rose Blackburn
- Ronald Rees
- roy smith
- stuart asman BSC DIPCE
- Tony Ensom
- vicki hagger
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 3 April 2026, 211 days early | Received 3 April 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 12 August 2025, 80 days early | Received 12 August 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 13 April 2024, 201 days early | Received 13 April 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 1 May 2023, 183 days early | Received 1 May 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 4 April 2022, 210 days early | Received 4 April 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1158530
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 11 September 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - Association Registered 11 Sep 2014
- Website
- www.pembrokeandmonktonhistory.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Pembrokeshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.