The Dean and Chapter of St Davids Cathedral
What it does
Regular worship presented to the highest standards including a sequence of special services from Advent to Candlemass, outreach through our education and pilgrimage centre to schools and to visitors and pilgrims and a Ministry of Welcome to visitors to the Cathedral and the promotion of art and music through exhibitions and concerts.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION OF THE CHURCH OF WALES FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT.IN PARTICULAR TO PROMOTE THE MISSION OF THE CHURCH IN WALES IN AND THROUGH THE CATHEDRAL BY PROMOTING THE STATEMENT OF FAITH MORE PARTICULARLY DESCRIBED IN:• THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CHURCH IN WALES.• THE ROYAL CHARTER 1919.• THE WELSH CHURCH ACT 1914.• THE WELSH CHURCH (TEMPORALITIES) ACT 1991.
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Pembrokeshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £1,499,488 and spent £1,572,376.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £1,499,488 | £1,572,376 | 32 | 35 |
| 31 December 2024 | £1,264,928 | £1,285,827 | 29 | 49 |
| 31 December 2023 | £1,209,534 | £1,393,764 | 19 | 42 |
| 31 December 2022 | £2,293,897 | £1,767,961 | 25 | 38 |
| 31 December 2021 | £787,675 | £998,640 | 28 | 38 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 90%, from £787,675 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £1,499,488 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 105% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Diocesan Board of Finance gave £178,792 in the year to 31 December 2024, 14% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £10,343 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £16,650 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £218,526 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£902,931
- Trading and fundraising£419,716
- Investments£103,058
- Other£73,783
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2024, the charity named 6 funders who gave £305,946 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diocesan Board of Finance | Trust, company or other | £178,792 | £100,000 |
| Representative Body of the Church in Wales | Trust, company or other | £80,208 | £71,000 |
| All Churches Trust Limited | Trust, company or other | £16,603 | £19,306 |
| Cathedral Music Trust Grant | Trust, company or other | £15,000 | £15,000 |
| Enhancing Pembrokeshire Fund | Trust, company or other | £10,343 | |
| DBF | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | |
| Lord Bishop of St Davids | Trust, company or other | £15,307 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2023, worth at least £302,709.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£247,853, 1 grant
- Benefact Trust£49,856, 3 grants
- Forte Charitable Foundation£5,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 14 Jul 2026 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £247,853 |
| 22 Jan 2026 | Forte Charitable Foundation | £5,000 |
| 18 Sept 2025 | Benefact Trust | £13,947 |
| 17 Jul 2024 | Benefact Trust | £16,603 |
| 18 Sept 2023 | Benefact Trust | £19,306 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
11 September 2024
Named in a written question from Paul Davies
Addressed to the Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Energy and Planning.
…sh Government provided support to many religious buildings through the Cultural Recovery Fund including a grant of £150,000 to the Dean & Chapter of St Davids Cathedral in 2021-22.
Trustees
19 trustees run the charity.
- The Very Revd PAUL ROBERT MACKNESSChair
- Canon Chancellor Dewi James Llewelyn Roberts
- Canon John Richard Cecil
- Canon Mark Stephen Ansell
- Canon Pastor Sheridan Angharad James
- Rev Canon JOHN PRYCE LEWIS
- Rev Canon LEIGH LAURENCE RICHARDSON Sub Dean
- Rev Canon Marianne Lily-MAy Osborne
- Rev Canon MARY MORGAN RHIANNON JOHNSON
- Rev Canon Mones Anton Farah
- Rev Canon Susannah Bale
- Revd Canon Andrew Graham Loat
- Revd Canon Gareth McEwan Reid
- Revd Canon John Marcus Zipperlen MSc MTh
- Revd Canon Julian William Smith BSc BA
- Revd Canon MICHAEL HUW ROWLANDS
- The Reverend Canon S E Jones
- The Venerable Matthew Anthony Robert Hill
- The Venerable Rachel Hannah Eileen Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 30 October 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 October 2025, 4 days early | Received 27 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 October 2024, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 24 October 2023, 7 days early | Received 24 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 29 October 2022, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1159118
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 7 November 2014
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 31/07/2014
- Website
- www.stdavidscathedral.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Pembrokeshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.