The Lower Wye Valley Building Preservation Trust
What it does
During the past year The Trust has been very largely engaged in negotiating a lease for our principal area of interest in Tintern Parva; this involving Tintern CC, Welsh Water and The Church in Wales; details are vital before we can put forward a case to potential funders.We have also opened a dialogue with the owner of the derelict church in Chapel Hill.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CHARITY ARE SPECIFICALLY RESTRICTED TO THE FOLLOWING:TO PRESERVE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PEOPLE OF THE VALLEY OF THE RIVER WYE TO ITS UPPER TIDAL LIMIT AND OF THE NATION, THE HISTORICAL, ARCHITECTURAL AND CONSTRUCTIONAL HERITAGE THAT MAY EXIST IN AND AROUND THE VALLEY OF THE RIVER WYE TO ITS UPPER TIDAL LIMIT IN BUILDINGS (INCLUDING ANY STRUCTURE OR ERECTION, AND ANY PART OF A BUILDING AS SO DEFINED) OF PARTICULAR BEAUTY OR HISTORICAL, ARCHITECTURAL OR CONSTRUCTIONAL INTEREST.
Causes
- What it works on
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Monmouthshire
- Elsewhere
- Gloucestershire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £2,171 and spent £571.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £2,171 | £571 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £0 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £0 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £0 | £13 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £0 | £13 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Spending against income
- It spent 26% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Vanessa Dodd
- Helen Carter
- Joanne McCrum
- John James Clarke
- Lindsay Clare Cobb
- Louise Angove
- Nick Day
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 23 June 2026, 7 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 16 June 2025, 14 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 5 June 2024, 25 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 9 June 2023, 21 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 9 June 2023, 344 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1163179
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 August 2015
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 08 SEP 2014
- Company number
- 09208574This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.lwvbpt.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.