Awen@thelibrary - Arts Whitchurch Eglwys Newydd
What it does
Arts, Educational and Advice to promote the development and extension of the use of the local publicly run library
Its charitable purposes
TO FURTHER OR BENEFIT THOSE PERSONS RESIDING STUDYING, WORKING OR UNDERTAKING VOLUNTARY ACTIVITY WITHIN WHITCHURCH AND TONGWYNLAIS (OR ITS SUCCESSOR) AND THE SURROUNDING AREAS , WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID PERSONS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITY, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION, THE ARTS, CULTURE AND HERITAGE AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THOSE PERSONS. IN FURTHERANCE OF THESE OBJECTS BUT NOT OTHERWISE, THE TRUSTEES SHALL HAVE POWER:TO PROVIDE SUPPORT TO WHITCHURCH LIBRARY AND TO MAINTAIN, DEVELOP OR MANAGE OR CO-OPERATE WITH ANY STATUTORY AUTHORITY IN THE MAINTENANCE, DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT, OF A CULTURAL CENTRE FOR ACTIVITIES PROMOTED BY THE CHARITY IN FURTHERANCE OF THE ABOVE OBJECTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Caerphilly
- Cardiff
- Vale of Glamorgan
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £1,208 and spent £1,681.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £1,208 | £1,681 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 March 2025 | £1,377 | £1,918 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,631 | £1,768 | Not reported | 24 |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,104 | £9,055 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2022 | £9,567 | £3,877 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 87%, from £9,567 in the year to 31 August 2022 to £1,208 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 139% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £450 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £1,446, awarded in 2021.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Nov 2021 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £1,446 |
Trustees
12 trustees run the charity.
- Anthony Evans
- Ceri Mark Stennett
- Chris Griffin
- Christine Catherine Lewis
- Huw Llewellyn Rogers
- Ian Claridge
- Jennifer Mills
- Judith Susan Evans Ba Hons Ma
- Ki Li Cheung
- Marc Alan Palmer
- Rachel Mary Hazlewood
- Sarah Margaret Duncan-Jones
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 29 July 2026, 186 days early | Received 29 July 2026 |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 23 September 2025, 130 days early | Received 23 September 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 3 December 2024, 59 days early | Received 3 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 15 May 2024, 105 days late | Received 15 May 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 4 March 2023, 118 days early | Received 4 March 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1165980
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 March 2016
- Governing document
- CIO - Association Registered 10 Mar 2016 as amended on 25 Mar 2022
- Website
- www.awenthelibrary.cymru
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.