Llantrisant Guildhall
What it does
To maintain the ancient guildhall for the benefit of freemen of Llantrisant and the community of Llantrisant.
Its charitable purposes
3.1 THE OBJECTS OF THE CIO ARE, FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT: (A) THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF THE LLANTRISANT GUILDHALL ('GUILDHALL') FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE FREEMEN WHOSE NAMES ARE CONTAINED IN THE FREEMEN'S ROLL MAINTAINED BY THE LLANTRISANT TOWN TRUST;(B) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC ON THE HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF LLANTRISANT AND THE SURROUNDING AREA BY PROVIDING ACTIVITIES AND INFORMATION AT THE GUILDHALL AND THE PRESERVATION OF THE SAID GUILDHALL;(C) TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF LLANTRISANT AND THE SURROUNDING AREA THE PROVISION OF THE GUILDHALL FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION OF INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE NEED OF SUCH FACILITIES BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE, INFIRMITY OR DISABLEMENT, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES OR FOR THE PUBLIC AT LARGE IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE AND WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITION OF LIFE OF THE SAID INHABITANTS, PROVIDED THIS CLAUSE 3.1(B) DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH CLAUSE 3.1(A) ABOVE; AND(D) TO THE EXTENT ONLY THAT INCOME OF THE CIO IS NOT APPLIED IN FURTHERANCE OF OBJECTS (A) (B) AND (C) ABOVE TO USE THE SAME FOR AND TOWARDS THE PURPOSES OF THE LLANTRISANT TOWN TRUST.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £82,722 and spent £63,174.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £82,722 | £63,174 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2024 | £52,790 | £79,636 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2023 | £80,259 | £84,245 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2022 | £43,668 | £75,803 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2021 | £59,393 | £73,617 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 39%, from £59,393 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £82,722 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 76% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £8,572 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £8,572 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £6,200 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £7,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £36,292 from 4 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £49,020.
By funder
- Garfield Weston Foundation£30,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£19,020, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 9 Mar 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,020 |
| 9 May 2018 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £30,000 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Adam Robinson
- Andrew Cowan
- Anthony Douglas Thompson
- Catherine Jean Davies
- Diane Gwilt
- Janette Carol Beattie
- Martin Julian Hooker
- Susan Christine Fudge
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 18 October 2026, 13 days early | Received 18 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 3 October 2025, 28 days early | Received 3 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 25 October 2024, 6 days early | Received 25 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 4 December 2023, 34 days late | Received 4 December 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 24 August 2022, 68 days early | Received 24 August 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1166059
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 March 2016
- Governing document
- CIO - Foundation Registered 15 Mar 2016 as amended on 12 Oct 2021
- Website
- www.llantrisantguildhall.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.