Operasonic Cyf
What it does
Operasonic creates opera projects and performances with and for young people that are led by professional artists. Participation is at the heart of our practice, and we create new opera in collaboration with our young participants, based on their stories and creativity. Operasonic is based in Newport, South Wales.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY THE PROMOTION OF THE ARTS, IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY OPERA, AND FOR SUCH OTHER CHARITABLE PURPOSES AS THE COMPANY MAY FROM TIME TO TIME DECIDE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Cardiff
- Monmouthshire
- Newport City
- Torfaen
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
- Elsewhere
- Gloucestershire
- South Gloucestershire
- Bristol City
Income and spending
In the year ending 5 April 2025, it had income of £204,788 and spent £132,960.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | £204,788 | £132,960 | Not reported | 4 |
| 5 April 2024 | £90,185 | £132,774 | Not reported | 1 |
| 5 April 2023 | £110,889 | £81,079 | Not reported | 2 |
| 5 April 2022 | £105,094 | £103,818 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2021 | £70,953 | £26,217 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 189%, from £70,953 in the year to 5 April 2021 to £204,788 in the year to 5 April 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 65% of its income in the year to 5 April 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 69% of its income in the year to 5 April 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£141,975).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 5 April 2025: £118,575 from 3 grants. Government contracts: £23,400 from 5 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | £118,575 from 3 grants | £23,400 from 5 contracts |
| 5 April 2024 | £17,840 from 1 grant | £15,500 from 2 contracts |
| 5 April 2023 | £6,000 from 2 grants | £7,291 from 1 contract |
| 5 April 2022 | £8,439 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 5 April 2021 | £9,833 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 7 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £96,430.
By funder
- Paul Hamlyn Foundation£50,000, 1 grant
- Youth Music£25,520, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£20,910, 5 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Mar 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £9,910 |
| 4 Mar 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £5,000 |
| 30 Jun 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,000 |
| 26 Apr 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,000 |
| 28 Mar 2022 | Youth Music | £25,520 |
| 17 Jun 2021 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,000 |
| 17 Nov 2015 | Paul Hamlyn Foundation | £50,000 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Rhian Christabel HutchingsChair
- Claire Joanne Hill
- Julia Tucker
- Michelle Wall
- Onismo Tawanda Muhlanga
- Paula Jane Siddall
- Shakira Mahabir
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | 5 February 2026 | Received 26 January 2026, 10 days early | Received 26 January 2026 |
| 5 April 2024 | 5 February 2025 | Received 2 December 2024, 65 days early | Received 2 December 2024 |
| 5 April 2023 | 5 February 2024 | Received 12 January 2024, 24 days early | Received 12 January 2024 |
| 5 April 2022 | 5 February 2023 | Received 8 February 2023, 3 days late | Received 8 February 2023 |
| 5 April 2021 | 5 February 2022 | Received 19 December 2021, 48 days early | Received 19 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1166121
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 March 2016
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 26 NOV 2014
- Company number
- 09327941This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.operasonic.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.