Friends of Aberdare Park
What it does
FRIENDS OF THE PARK ARE A GROUP OF PEOPLE WHO ARE WORKING WITH RCTCBC TO IMPROVE THE FACILITIES AND ORGANISE OR HELP TO SUPPORT ACTIVITIES IN ABERDARE PARK.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECT OF THE CIO IS:FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF THE VILLAGE OF TRECYNON, ABERDARE AND THE SURROUNDING AREA (“THE AREA OF BENEFIT”) TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE INHABITANTS OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY THE PRESERVATION, PROMOTION, SUPPORT, ASSISTANCE AND IMPROVEMENT OF THE ABERDARE PARK.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £22,855 and spent £32,825.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £22,855 | £32,825 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 December 2024 | £34,607 | £30,833 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 December 2023 | £12,054 | £18,438 | Not reported | 7 |
| 31 December 2022 | £17,811 | £3,720 | Not reported | 9 |
| 31 December 2021 | £31,121 | £55,240 | Not reported | 11 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 27%, from £31,121 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £22,855 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 144% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £21,835 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £21,835 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £34,533 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £8,400 from 8,400 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £1,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
22 October 2025, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Cabinet
Declaration of Interest
22 October 2025, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Cabinet Member for Environmental Services declared an interest that names the charity, at Cabinet
Recorded as a personal interest.
22 October 2025, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Cabinet Member for Social Care (Children's Services) declared an interest that names the charity, at Cabinet
Recorded as a personal interest.
19 January 2022, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Declaration of Interest
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Philip ReesChair
- Ann Crimmings
- Jayne Jones
- Sharon Lynne Rees
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 24 October 2026, 7 days early | Received 24 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 October 2025, 4 days early | Received 28 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 7 October 2024, 24 days early | Received 7 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 10 October 2023, 21 days early | Received 10 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 25 October 2022, 6 days early | Received 25 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1169132
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 September 2016
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 12 Sep 2016
- Website
- foaberdarepark.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.