Brecknock Federation of YFC
What it does
Brecknock YFC is part of the National Federation and has been established for over 80 years. The organisation has over 500 members in 12 clubs throughout Breconshire. The federation is concerned with the development and well-being of young people and seeks to achieve its objectives through a wide range of programmes which members have the responsibility for designing and managing the delivery.
Its charitable purposes
A) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT OF YOUNG MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC AT LARGE IN AGRICULTURE, RURAL LIFE AND AFFAIRS, INTERNATIONAL UNDERSTANDING, HOME CRAFTS, THE ENVIRONMENT AND RELATED SUBJECTS; ANDB) IN THE INTERESTS OF THE SOCIAL WELFARE OF SUCH MEMBERS, TO PROVIDE AND PROMOTE THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATIONS, BEING FACILITIES WHICH WILL IMPROVE THEIR SPIRITUAL AND MENTAL CAPACITIES, HEALTH AND WELL-BEING, RAISE AWARENESS, SELF-RELIANCE AND INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBILITY SO THAT THEY MAY DEVELOP AS INDIVIDUALS INTO FULL CITIZENS. C)TO PROMOTE ITS ACTIVITIES THROUGH THE MEDIUMS OF ENGLISH AND WELSH AND TO ENSURE THOSE ACTIVITIES ENHANCE THE MEMBERS' UNDERSTANDING AND KNOWLEDGE OF WELSH RURAL LIFE, WELSH CULTURE AND THE WELSH LANGUAGE, ALONG WITH PROVIDING AN UNDERSTANDING OF OTHER CULTURES
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- How it works
- Provides services
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £105,371 and spent £129,927.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £105,371 | £129,927 | Not reported | 500 |
| 31 August 2024 | £110,943 | £131,820 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 August 2023 | £113,843 | £125,461 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2022 | £87,983 | £90,099 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 August 2021 | £178,729 | £119,411 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 41%, from £178,729 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £105,371 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 123% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 9% of its income in the year to 31 August 2024 came from government grants and contracts (£10,444).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £10,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £10,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £2,944 from 2 grants | £7,500 from 1 contract |
| 31 August 2023 | £10,466 from 6 grants | £10,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 August 2022 | £29,206 from 5 grants | £10,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 August 2021 | £18,952 from 6 grants | £10,000 from 1 contract |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £25,800.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£20,300, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£4,500, 3 grants
- The National Lottery Community Fund£1,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 18 Oct 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £1,500 |
| 25 Apr 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £1,500 |
| 8 Mar 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £1,500 |
| 8 Feb 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund |
Trustees
11 trustees run the charity.
- Amanda Thomas
- Baden Davies
- Colette Evans
- Elin Protheroe
- Ellis Morgan
- Gareth Davies
- Ieuan Peter Williams
- Iwan Davies
- Kathryn Whitrow
- Samuel Powell
- Victoria Kirsty Williams
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 10 October 2025, 263 days early | Received 10 October 2025 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 8 November 2024, 234 days early | Received 8 November 2024 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 27 February 2024, 124 days early | Received 27 February 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 18 May 2023, 43 days early | Received 18 May 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 25 April 2022, 66 days early | Received 25 April 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1169501
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 October 2016
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 05 Oct 2016
- Website
- www.brecknockyfc.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.