County in the Community
What it does
TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION OR LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION OF INDIVIDUALS BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE, INFIRMITY OR DISABILITY.TO HELP YOUNG PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES, SO AS TO DEVELOP THEIR CAPABILITIES THAT THEY MAY GROW TO FULL MATURITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND MEMBERS OF SOCIETY.
Its charitable purposes
THE CHARITY'S OBJECTS ARE, FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT, WITHIN SOUTH EAST WALES AND THE SURROUNDING AREA:1.TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION OF INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE NEED OF SUCH FACILITIES BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE INFIRMITY OR DISABILITY, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR SOCIAL CIRCUMSTANCES WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE.2.TO HELP YOUNG PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES, SO AS TO DEVELOP THEIR CAPABILITIES THAT THEY MAY GROW TO FULL MATURITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND MEMBERS OF SOCIETY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Monmouthshire
- Newport City
- Torfaen
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £498,866 and spent £553,141.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £498,866 | £553,141 | Not reported | 45 |
| 31 August 2024 | £569,256 | £499,524 | 18 | 45 |
| 31 August 2023 | £416,505 | £426,547 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 August 2022 | £414,167 | £403,587 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 August 2021 | £336,607 | £297,441 | Not reported | 12 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 48%, from £336,607 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £498,866 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 111% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 August 2024
- Donations and legacies£389,348
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£178,139
- Investments£1,769
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 6 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £120,995.
By funder
- Postcode Community Trust£48,995, 2 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£40,000, 1 grant
- BBC Children in Need£32,000, 3 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 20 Nov 2024 | Community Foundation in Wales | £40,000 |
| 29 Mar 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £25,000 |
| 10 May 2023 | BBC Children in Need | £1,000 |
| 20 Oct 2022 | BBC Children in Need | £500 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 9 payments to this charity worth £5,100 between 17 January 2022 and 18 February 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monmouthshire County Council | £5,100 | 9 | 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- John RelishChair
- Danielle Seivwright
- David Greenhaf
- Haydn John Ames
- Jane Beckett
- Jill Manship
- Paul Cooper
- Rhys Jones
- Salvatore Scarpato
- Samantha Scott
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 15 June 2026, 15 days early | Received 15 June 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 9 June 2025, 21 days early | Received 9 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 8 July 2024, 8 days late | Received 8 July 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 25 April 2023, 66 days early | Received 25 April 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 6 April 2022, 85 days early | Received 6 April 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1172602
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 April 2017
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 12 AUG 2015 as amended on 03 Dec 2018
- Company number
- 09729852This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- countyinthecommunity.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.