Solva Care
What it does
Set up in response to wishes of the local residents, we support individuals and families with a variety of services and aim to maintain and improve health and wellbeing by:Enabling residents to stay in their own homes and remain part of the community.Offer a way to counteract loneliness, isolation and social disadvantage.Provide extra support for those who are caring for relatives.
Its charitable purposes
TO MAINTAIN AND IMPROVE THE HEALTH AND WELLBEING OF ELDERLY PEOPLE AND OTHERS WHO ARE IN NEED BY PROVIDING SPECIALLY DESIGNED SOCIAL CARE SUPPORT SERVICES CALCULATED TO RELIEVE THE NEEDS OF SUCH PERSONS IN PEMBROKESHIRE BUT INITIALLY CENTRED ON SOLVA AND ITS IMMEDIATE AREA.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Older people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Pembrokeshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £293,288 and spent £424,768.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £293,288 | £424,768 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 March 2024 | £288,092 | £230,659 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 March 2023 | £232,155 | £227,218 | Not reported | 41 |
| 31 March 2022 | £127,248 | £165,976 | Not reported | 53 |
| 31 March 2021 | £221,385 | £107,483 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 32%, from £221,385 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £293,288 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 145% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £8,695 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £16,052 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £391,072.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£376,671, 2 grants
- Nesta£14,401, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 31 Jul 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £94,888 |
| 24 Jan 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £281,783 |
| 20 Nov 2018 | Nesta | £14,401 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
30 January 2024
Named by Mark Drakeford in the Senedd
…If you look across the range of things that are the responsibility of the Welsh Government, in social care many colleagues here will know about Solva Care, which has won many awards. There's the Friends United Together co-operative in Swansea, a co-operative people with learning disabilities. In th…
28 September 2022
Named by Joyce Watson in the Senedd
Thank you. I took part in a conversation with Solva Care, who are doing all the work that you’ve just mentioned. And, of course, the impact of it is keeping people out of acute services, keeping people out of hospital and helping people to come back from hospital, and reducing the anxiety about the…
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Barbara Bale
- Dr John Holland
- Jan BowerOrganisation
- John GrahamOrganisation
- Jonathon Crowther Higgins
- Joseph Griffin
- Maggie McKenzie
- Sue Carnes Chichlowska
- Sue Denman
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 11 December 2025, 51 days early | Received 11 December 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 September 2024, 130 days early | Received 23 September 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 19 October 2023, 104 days early | Received 19 October 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 6 October 2022, 117 days early | Received 6 October 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 9 September 2021, 144 days early | Received 9 September 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1172878
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 4 May 2017
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 04 May 2017 as amended on 06 Sep 2023 as amended on 23 Apr 2026
- Website
- solvacare.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Pembrokeshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.