Porthcawl Museum and Historical Society CIO
What it does
Mission Statement - The aim of Porthcawl Museum is to assist in the enhancement of the quality of life in the community by seeking a deeper understanding and appreciation of our local heritage, culture and environment through the acquisition, preservation and interpretation of artefacts and associated information relating to the history of Porthcawl.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROMOTION, FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC, KNOWLEDGE AND RESEARCH INTO CONTEMPORARY LIFE AND THE HISTORY OF PORTHCAWL AND ITS SURROUNDING AREAS OF NEWTON AND NOTTAGE BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY LIMITATION:-(A) THE MAINTENANCE, PRESERVATION, IMPROVEMENT OR PROVISION OF STUDY FACILITIES, BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY FOR RESEARCH, PERUSAL, EXAMINATION OF OBJECTS AND BOOKS(B) THE PRESERVATION OF BUILDINGS OR SITES OF HISTORIC OR ARCHITECTURAL IMPORTANCE OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE PRESERVE A WRITTEN AND/OR PHOTOGRAPHIC RECORD(C) THE PROVISION OF DISPLAY FACILITIES TO THE PUBLIC AT LARGE AND DOCUMENTS OF WHATEVER NATURE SO THAT MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC CAN PERUSE AT THE MUSEUMS DISCRETION(D) THE PROTECTION OR CONSERVATION OF ANY HISTORICAL RECORD, DOCUMENT OR OBJECT INCLUDING COMPUTER RECORDS(E) SUCH OTHER PURPOSES AS MAY FROM TIME TO TIME BE DETERMINED SUBJECT TO THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF THE CHARITY COMMISSIONERS FOR ENGLAND AND WALES IF NECESSARY.(F) BY DISPLAY OR ACCESS TO EXHIBITS OR BY LECTURE INFORMING THE PUBLIC THE SIGNIFICANCE OF CURRENT AND/OR HISTORICAL EVENTS OF NATIONAL/INTERNATIONAL SIGNIFICANCE.(G) TO PROMOTE IN GENERAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL AND/OR HISTORICAL INTEREST.(H) TO ACCEPT THE ASSETS OF THE FORMER UNINCORPORATED PORTHCAWL MUSEUM & HISTORICAL SOCIETY(I) TO PURSUE HISTORICAL RESEARCH INTO THE DAILY LIFE OF PORTHCAWL AND ITS ENVIRONS (J) TO PURSUE SUCH OTHER RESEARCH AND COLLECTING OF MATERIAL AS MAY BE RELEVANT TO THE CONTEMPORARY AND PAST LIVES OF PORTHCAWL AND ITS INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £36,495 and spent £33,735.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £36,495 | £33,735 | Not reported | 45 |
| 31 August 2024 | £29,589 | £20,904 | Not reported | 42 |
| 31 August 2023 | £27,147 | £22,754 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 August 2022 | £26,210 | £26,814 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 August 2021 | £33,857 | £36,953 | Not reported | 21 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 8%, from £33,857 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £36,495 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 92% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 3% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£986).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £986 from 1 grant. Government contracts: None.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £986 from 1 grant | None |
| 31 August 2024 | £4,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £2,594 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £25,595 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Evan Charles Williams
- Jayne Ann James
- John Crayston Richardson
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 13 June 2026, 17 days early | Received 13 June 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 21 June 2025, 9 days early | Received 21 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 9 June 2024, 21 days early | Received 9 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 21 May 2023, 40 days early | Received 21 May 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 19 June 2022, 11 days early | Received 19 June 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1176042
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 1 December 2017
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 01 Dec 2017
- Website
- porthcawlmuseum.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.