Our Chartist Heritage
What it does
Our Chartist Heritage organises education programmes, meetings, conferences and festivals for members of the general public that raise the profile the Chartist story to expand the pride and confidence of the people of this unique region and to make this heritage of the Newport region more widely known locally, nationally and internationally.
Its charitable purposes
THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT IN THE HISTORY AND HERITAGE OF THE CHARTIST MOVEMENT BY THE PROVISION OF ARTS EVENTS AND ACTIVITIES, TALKS, EXHIBITIONS, CONFERENCES, SPORTS AND HEALTH RELATED ACTIVITIES, EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS AND BY SUCH OTHER MEANS AS THE TRUSTEES MAY FROM TIME TO TIME DETERMINE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £34,108 and spent £64,097.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £34,108 | £64,097 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2024 | £100,412 | £103,053 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2023 | £94,284 | £54,442 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2022 | £22,456 | £22,652 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2021 | £7,160 | £26,760 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 376%, from £7,160 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £34,108 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 188% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £13,550 from 2 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £13,550 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £35,650 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £13,422 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £4,412 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £192,279.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£168,469, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£23,810, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Sept 2023 | Postcode Community Trust | £23,810 |
| 7 Mar 2023 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £91,069 |
| 25 Jan 2018 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £77,400 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £364, on 9 January 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monmouthshire County Council | £364 | 1 | 2024/25 |
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Dr MELINDA JANE DROWLEYChair
- Christopher John Harold England
- Dr ELIN MAIR JONES
- Heather Louise Vaughan
- John Charles Ferris
- Priyesh Dave
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 15 August 2026, 77 days early | Received 15 August 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 24 September 2025, 37 days early | Received 24 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 12 September 2024, 49 days early | Received 12 September 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 11 May 2022, 173 days early | Received 11 May 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1176673
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 January 2018
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 15 Jan 2018 as amended on 03 Jul 2019 as amended on 08 May 2025
- Website
- www.our-chartist-heritage.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.