Calon y Cwm
What it does
Calon-Y-Cwm is a charity set up in the Garw Valley, South Wales. It has a mission statement of:Improving wellbeing, communities and the environment in the Garw Valley.The charity wishes to develop communities, facilities and services in the Garw Valley for the betterment of residents.
Its charitable purposes
TO DEVELOP THE CAPACITY AND SKILLS OF THE MEMBERS OF THE SOCIALLY AND ECONOMICALLY DISADVANTAGED COMMUNITY OF GARW VALLEY AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD IN SUCH A WAY THAT THEY ARE BETTER ABLE TO IDENTIFY, AND HELP MEET, THEIR NEEDS AND TO PARTICIPATE MORE FULLY IN SOCIETY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £35,246 and spent £18,297.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £35,246 | £18,297 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 March 2024 | £31,227 | £23,499 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 March 2023 | £20,217 | £17,067 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 March 2022 | £29,299 | £50,478 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2021 | £50,925 | £22,330 | Not reported | 6 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 31%, from £50,925 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £35,246 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 52% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £12,742 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £23,000 from 6 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £18,154, awarded in 2025.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 25 Feb 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £18,154 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Alison Clare Westwood
- Ian Black
- Maxine Lewis
- Peter John Westwood
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 7 January 2026, 24 days early | Received 7 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 11 October 2024, 112 days early | Received 24 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 11 October 2024, 254 days late | Received 11 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 13 September 2024, 591 days late | Received 17 September 2024 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 25 August 2021, 159 days early | Received 25 August 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1178043
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 April 2018
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 23 Apr 2018
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.