Tir Dewi
What it does
Tir Dewi provides a bilingual, confidential, comprehensive support and advocacy service to farmers and their dependents, assisting them to overcome problems which they are experiencing. We work alongside other agencies to achieve this where appropriate. Our service is provided by volunteers who are registered and trained by Tir Dewi.
Its charitable purposes
THE RELIEF OF FARMERS IN WALES WHO ARE IN NEED BY REASON OF ILL-HEALTH, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP, BEREAVEMENT OR OTHER DISADVANTAGE. IN FURTHERANCE OF THIS OBJECT BUT NOT OTHERWISE THE CIO SHALL HAVE THE FOLLOWING POWERS:- TO PROVIDE A BILINGUAL CONFIDENTIAL SUPPORT AND ADVOCACY SERVICE IN WELSH AND ENGLISH TO FARMERS AND THEIR DEPENDENTS. - TO PROVIDE A SUPPORT AND SIGN-POST SERVICE WORKING WITH OTHER AGENCIES TO SEEK RESOLUTIONS TO INDIVIDUALS’ PROBLEMS. - TO PROVIDE AN ADVOCACY SERVICE. - TO OFFER DIRECTION AND SUPPORT WITH THE AIM TO ASSIST WITH INDIVIDUALS’ PROBLEMS INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO FINANCIAL ADVICE, REGULATORY ADVICE AND MENTAL HEALTH SUPPORT. THESE SERVICES WILL BE SOUGHT FROM A REGISTER OF APPROPRIATELY TRAINED AND QUALIFIED VOLUNTEERS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Animals
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Ceredigion
- Carmarthenshire
- Pembrokeshire
- Powys
- Conwy
- Isle of Anglesey
- Gwynedd
- Denbighshire
- Flintshire
- Wrexham
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £229,537 and spent £174,279.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £229,537 | £174,279 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 March 2025 | £238,730 | £164,153 | Not reported | 55 |
| 31 March 2024 | £280,585 | £287,707 | Not reported | 65 |
| 31 March 2023 | £285,294 | £230,130 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 March 2022 | £164,816 | £166,894 | Not reported | 65 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 39%, from £164,816 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £229,537 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 76% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £22,216 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 16 grants to this charity since 2019, worth at least £586,054.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£334,400, 3 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£120,000, 2 grants
- Rank Foundation£106,654, 9 grants
- The Royal Countryside Fund£25,000, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 6 Dec 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £75,000 |
| 23 Apr 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £20,000 |
| 20 Oct 2023 | Postcode Community Trust | £45,000 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- Aled Morgan Jones
- Dr Peter Glynne Harlech Jones
- Edmund Seymore Bailey Mr
- Edward Hedd Pugh
- Evan Llewelyn Thomas
- Huw Thomas Jones
- Janice Mai Thomas
- Olwen Mai DAVIES
- Rev Roy Llywelyn Moules-Jones
- The Venerable Rachel Hannah Eileen Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 21 September 2026, 132 days early | Received 21 September 2026 |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 30 October 2025, 93 days early | Received 30 October 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 October 2024, 100 days early | Received 23 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 17 October 2023, 106 days early | Received 17 October 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 29 June 2022, 216 days early | Received 29 June 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1179204
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 July 2018
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 16 Jul 2018
- Website
- www.tirdewi.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Ceredigion
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.