Hirwaun YMCA
What it does
At Hirwaun YMCA we're passionate about supporting people in Rhondda Cynon Taff to build healthy, happy, fulfilled and purposeful futures. We focus on providing people a safe, supportive environment where we can help fulfil their potential, so that they can belong, contribute and thrive.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE ASSOCIATION ARE:1) TO ADVANCE THE CHRISTIAN FAITH, INCLUDING BY:(A) PROMOTING A CHRISTIAN ENVIRONMENT INSPIRED AND MOTIVATED BY THE LIFE, EXAMPLE AND TEACHING OF JESUS CHRIST, WHERE PEOPLE OF FAITH AND PEOPLE OF NONE CAN WORK TOGETHER FOR THE TRANSFORMATION OF COMMUNITIES; AND(B) ENABLING PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AND IN PARTICULAR YOUNG PEOPLE, TO FLOURISH THROUGH EXPERIENCING AND RESPONDING TO THE LOVE OF GOD DEMONSTRATED BY THE LIFE, EXAMPLE AND TEACHING OF JESUS CHRIST;2) TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR MEN AND WOMEN WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE;3) TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF EDUCATION FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AND IN PARTICULAR YOUNG PEOPLE, WITH THE OBJECT OF DEVELOPING THEIR PHYSICAL, MENTAL OR SPIRITUAL CAPACITIES;4) TO RELIEVE OR ASSIST IN THE RELIEF OF PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AND IN PARTICULAR YOUNG PEOPLE, WHO ARE IN CONDITIONS OF NEED, HARDSHIP OR DISTRESS BY REASON OF THEIR SOCIAL, PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL, SPIRITUAL OR ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES; AND5) TO PROVIDE RESIDENTIAL ACCOMMODATION, (INCLUDING SOCIAL HOUSING,) FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AND IN PARTICULAR YOUNG PEOPLE, WHO ARE IN NEED, HARDSHIP OR DISTRESS BY REASON OF THEIR SOCIAL, PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL, SPIRITUAL OR ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £562,243 and spent £316,174.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £562,243 | £316,174 | 8 | 34 |
| 31 March 2024 | £318,706 | £371,012 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2023 | £553,011 | £317,671 | 6 | 12 |
| 31 March 2022 | £331,612 | £282,278 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2021 | £390,081 | £154,546 | Not reported | 12 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 44%, from £390,081 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £562,243 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 56% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 89% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£499,468).
- Largest funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund gave £102,221 in the year to 31 March 2024, 32% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £375,440 from 8 grants. Government contracts: £124,028 from 3 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £375,440 from 8 grants | £124,028 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2024 | £24,462 from 3 grants | £195,757 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2023 | £20,000 from 5 grants | £170,000 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | £145,000 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £148,736 from 5 grants | £129,488 from 3 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£363
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£560,912
- Investments£968
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2024, the charity named 2 funders who gave £113,021 between them. £113,021 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| The National Lottery Heritage Fund | National Lottery | £102,221 |
| Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council | Council | £10,800 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 7 grants to this charity since 2009, worth at least £444,309.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£372,903, 4 grants
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£60,406, 2 grants
- People's Health Trust£11,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Nov 2022 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £36,206 |
| 11 Oct 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,920 |
| 2 Dec 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £343,323 |
| 31 Oct 2019 | People's Health Trust | £11,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £87,100, on 9 December 2022.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £87,100 | 1 | 2022/23 |
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Cian James
- Daniel Scott Bryant
- Gail Reed
- Melanie Jayne Blayney
- Owain Lloyd Bryant
- Raymond Reed
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 29 January 2026, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 January 2025, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 29 January 2024, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 9 January 2023, 22 days early | Received 9 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 20 January 2022, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1180433
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 October 2018
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 19 FEB 2018AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 17 OCT 2018
- Company number
- 11212959This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- hirwaunymca.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.