Y Cwmni Siarad / the Talking Company
What it does
The prevention or relief of mental distress for the public benefit of people living in Wales in particular but not exclusively by the provision of evidence based, accessible psychological therapies, counselling and support services.
Its charitable purposes
1. THE PREVENTION OR RELIEF OF MENTAL DISTRESS FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT OF PEOPLE LIVING IN WALES IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY THE PROVISION OF EVIDENCE BASED, ACCESSIBLE PSYCHOLOGICAL THERAPIES, COUNSELLING AND SUPPORT SERVICES.2. THE PROMOTION OF SOCIAL INCLUSION AMONG PEOPLE LIVING IN WALES WHO EXPERIENCE MENTAL DISTRESS BY PREVENTING THEM FROM BECOMING SOCIALLY EXCLUDED AND ASSISTING THEM TO INTEGRATE INTO SOCIETY IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY INVOLVING SOCIALLY EXCLUDED GROUPS IN EVALUATING AND DESIGNING MENTAL WELLBEING SERVICES THAT ENABLE INCREASED ACCESS
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
- Cardiff
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £91,652 and spent £126,835.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £91,652 | £126,835 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 March 2024 | £141,521 | £123,017 | Not reported | 38 |
| 31 March 2023 | £112,958 | £121,076 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2022 | £62,521 | £112,884 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 March 2021 | £124,410 | £89,474 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 26%, from £124,410 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £91,652 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 138% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £270,179.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£216,679, 1 grant
- Postcode Community Trust£45,000, 2 grants
- The Clothworkers' Foundation£8,500, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Jun 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £25,000 |
| 30 Jun 2023 | Postcode Community Trust | £20,000 |
| 9 Oct 2019 | The Clothworkers' Foundation | £8,500 |
| 24 May 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Claire Charlton
- Joanna Wade Evans
- Lee Parfitt
- Michelle Hurley-Tyres
- Nia Pritchard
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 28 January 2026, 3 days early | Received 28 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 January 2025, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 25 January 2024, 6 days early | Received 25 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 21 December 2022, 41 days early | Received 21 December 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 27 January 2022, 4 days early | Received 27 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1182049
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 February 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 15 Feb 2019
- Website
- www.ycscounsellingwales.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.