The Starfish Alliance
What it does
We promote, oversee, and train churches to host Starfish Kids Camps, week-long residential camps for children in foster care.
Its charitable purposes
THE FOLLOWING OBJECTS WILL BE CARRIED OUT WITH A CHRISTIAN ETHOS: 4.1 TO ADVANCE CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE IN LIFE, IN PARTICULAR LOOKED AFTER CHILDREN, ESPECIALLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH:4.1.1 THE PROVISION OF LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES SO AS TO DEVELOP THEIR CAPABILITIES THAT THEY MAY GROW TO FULL MATURITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND MEMBERS OF SOCIETY; AND4.1.2 THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE QUALITY OF SERVICE GIVEN TO CHILDREN AND OTHERS IN CARE (INCLUDING FOSTER CARE) BY BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT, ADVICE AND GUIDANCE TO REPRESENTATIVES OF SERVICES AND ORGANISATIONS ENGAGED IN PROVIDING, IMPROVING AND ADVANCING FOSTER CARE; AND4.2 TO PRESERVE AND PROTECT THE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH OF CARERS OF LOOKED AFTER CHILDREN, PRINCIPALLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY, BY OFFERING A RESPITE SERVICE TO THE CHILDREN IN THEIR CARE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
- Northern Ireland
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £74,996 and spent £44,625.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £74,996 | £44,625 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2024 | £28,880 | £22,893 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2023 | £13,378 | £19,787 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2022 | £15,503 | £12,177 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 December 2021 | £7,050 | £17,304 | Not reported | 4 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 964%, from £7,050 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £74,996 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 60% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2020, worth at least £49,000.
By funder
- Benefact Trust£39,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£10,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Jun 2025 | Benefact Trust | £39,000 |
| 12 Feb 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Rev Bryan ElliottChair
- Bryan Elliott
- Clayton John Sandry
- Dr CHRISTOPHER MARK WINSTON
- Judith Alexandra Sandry
- Kathleen Margaret Winston
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 7 October 2026, 24 days early | Received 7 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 11 June 2025, 142 days early | Received 11 June 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 August 2024, 62 days early | Received 30 August 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 30 October 2023, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 8 November 2022, 8 days late | Received 8 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1182198
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 February 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 25 Feb 2019
- Website
- www.starfish.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.