Swayne Johnson Charitable Trust
What it does
The activities of the Charitable Trust are to make grants and donations to individuals, groups, community associations, local or national charities in Denbigh, St Asaph, Llandudno, Ruthin, Tattenhall, Menai Bridge and in the surrounding areas of North Wales and Cheshire. Particular emphasis is made on local communities and grassroots benefit.
Its charitable purposes
TO FURTHER SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES (CHARITABLE UNDER THE LAW OF ENGLAND AND WALES) AS THE TRUSTEES SEE FIT FROM TIME TO TIME BY MAKING GRANTS AND AWARDS TO INDIVIDUALS, VOLUNTARY GROUPS, COMMUNITY ASSOCIATIONS, AND OTHER LOCAL OR NATIONAL CHARITIES IN NORTH WALES AND CHESHIRE WITH A PARTICULAR FOCUS ON DENBIGH, ST ASAPH, LLANDUDNO, RUTHIN, TATTENHALL, MENAI BRIDGE AND THE SURROUNDING AREAS
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides other finance
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
- Denbighshire
- Flintshire
- Gwynedd
- Isle of Anglesey
- Powys
- Wrexham
- Elsewhere
- Cheshire West & Chester
Income and spending
In the year ending 28 November 2025, it had income of £6,570 and spent £3,103.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28 November 2025 | £6,570 | £3,103 | Not reported | 6 |
| 28 November 2024 | £545 | £3,690 | Not reported | 5 |
| 28 November 2023 | £9,265 | £3,650 | Not reported | 6 |
| 28 November 2022 | £5,090 | £3,096 | Not reported | 5 |
| 28 November 2021 | £3,153 | £5,640 | Not reported | 6 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 108%, from £3,153 in the year to 28 November 2021 to £6,570 in the year to 28 November 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 47% of its income in the year to 28 November 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 28 November 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 28 November 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 November 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 November 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Caryl Vaughan
- David Patrick Scott
- Gareth Davies
- Lynette Ann Viney-Passig
- Michael Dorian Tree
- Owain Llyr Williams
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 2 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 November 2025 | 28 September 2026 | Received 24 September 2026, 4 days early | Received 24 September 2026 |
| 28 November 2024 | 28 September 2025 | Received 29 October 2025, 31 days late | Received 29 October 2025 |
| 28 November 2023 | 28 September 2024 | Received 4 November 2024, 37 days late | Received 4 December 2024 |
| 28 November 2022 | 28 September 2023 | Received 9 February 2024, 134 days late | Received 10 February 2024 |
| 28 November 2021 | 28 September 2022 | Received 21 September 2022, 7 days early | Received 21 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1185083
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 29 August 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 29 Aug 2019
- Council area of its contact address
- Denbighshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.