The Anne Matthews Trust
What it does
We operate Braich Goch; a residential learning centre, sanctuary space, and community hub for individuals & community groups working to combat the sources and effects of inequality, poverty, discrimination and oppression. We are especially committed to working with young adults from refugee and migrant backgrounds, to develop networks, access opportunities, and gain new skills and knowledge.
Its charitable purposes
The objects of the CIO are, for the public benefit, in the United Kingdom and internationally: 1. To promote social inclusion by working with people who are socially excluded on the grounds of their ethnic origin or youth, and in particular but not exclusively young people from refugee and migrant backgrounds, and to relieve the needs of such people and assist them to integrate into society by: (a) providing recreational facilities and opportunities for such people. (b) enabling service providers to adapt their services to better meet the needs of such people. (c) raising public awareness of the issues affecting such people, both generally and in relation to their exclusion. 2. To develop the capacity and skills of the members of socially and economically disadvantaged communities, in particular but not exclusively refugee and migrant communities and those at risk of displacement, in such a way that they are better able to identify and help meet their needs and to participate more in society.3. To promote for the benefit of the inhabitants of Corris and the surrounding area the provision of facilities for recreation or other leisure time occupation of individuals who have need of such facilities by reason of their youth, age, infirmity or disablement, financial hardship or social and economic circumstances or for the public at large in the interests of social welfare and with the object of improving the condition of life of the said inhabitants. 4. To prevent and relieve need in those who have become or are at risk of becoming displaced persons or refugees from the countries of their origin or domicile by reason of hostilities, persecution, oppression, discrimination, natural disasters or other like causes, and their families and dependants who are in conditions of need, hardship and distress.5. To promote sustainable development for the benefit of the public by: (a) the preservation, conservation and the protection of the environment and the prudent use of resources; (b) the relief of poverty and the improvement of the conditions of life in socially and economically disadvantaged communities; (c) the promotion of sustainable means of achieving economic growth and regeneration.Sustainable development means ?development which meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.?
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Disability
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £371,047 and spent £254,724.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £371,047 | £254,724 | Not reported | 13 |
| 31 August 2024 | £259,760 | £198,292 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 August 2023 | £243,581 | £184,682 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 August 2022 | £199,861 | £174,401 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 August 2021 | £169,927 | £136,813 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 118%, from £169,927 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £371,047 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 69% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £21,118 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £27,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £23,000 from 6 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Moondance Foundation | 30 November 2023 | £21,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 13 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £717,104.
By funder
- Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust£326,654, 2 grants
- Lankelly Chase Foundation£277,750, 3 grants
- The National Lottery Community Fund£44,670, 4 grants
- The Fore£28,030, 1 grant
- Farming the Future£15,000, 1 grant
- Paul Hamlyn Foundation£15,000, 1 grant
- Garfield Weston Foundation£10,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 22 May 2026 | Farming the Future | £15,000 |
| 11 Mar 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,880 |
| 30 Nov 2024 | Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust | £191,000 |
| 31 Jul 2023 | Lankelly Chase Foundation | £70,000 |
| 21 Jun 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,830 |
| 18 Mar 2023 | Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust | £135,654 |
| 21 Sept 2022 | Lankelly Chase Foundation | £37,750 |
| 31 Mar 2022 | Lankelly Chase Foundation | £170,000 |
| 7 Mar 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
| 8 Sept 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,960 |
All 13 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Apr 2021 | The Fore | £28,030 |
| 3 Mar 2021 | Paul Hamlyn Foundation | £15,000 |
| 29 Jan 2021 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £10,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £300,000, on 26 November 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £300,000 | 1 | 2025/26 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Lucy PearsonChair
- Andre Kpodonu
- Dr Jasber Singh
- Eden Lesley Yoha-Binti Lunghy
- Osian Morris
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 28 June 2026, 2 days early | Received 28 June 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 26 June 2025, 4 days early | Received 26 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 28 June 2024, 2 days early | Received 28 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 27 June 2023, 3 days early | Received 27 June 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 30 June 2022 | Received 30 June 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1188579
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 March 2020
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 16 Mar 2020 as amended on 05 Jun 2024
- Website
- www.theannematthewstrust.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.