The Ulrike Michal Foundation for the Arts
What it does
The foundation seeks to promote, encourage and extend the love, appreciation, enjoyment, understanding and practice of fine and decorative arts, and their traditional skills, through awarding grants for art projects in and supporting fine/decorative arts students in and from north Wales, Merseyside, Wirral, Cheshire, Shropshire and Herefordshire.
Its charitable purposes
THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE ARTS, CULTURE, HERITAGE OR SCIENCE.THE FOUNDATION'S AIM IS TO PROMOTE, ENCOURAGE AND EXTEND THE LOVE, APPRECIATION, ENJOYMENT, KNOWLEDGE, UNDERSTANDING AND PRACTICE OF FINE, DECORATIVE AND APPLIED ARTS AMONG PEOPLE OF ALL AGES THROUGH EXPERIENCES AT MUSEUMS, ART GALLERIES, HISTORIC PROPERTIES AND IN THE COMMUNITY AT LARGE, BOTH AS INDIVIDUALS AND COMMUNALLY, AS PARTICIPANTS AS WELL AS SPECTATORS.THE FOUNDATION WILL SEEK TO ACHIEVE ITS AIMS THROUGH THE PROVISION OF GRANTS IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS: THE COUNTIES OF ANGLESEY, GWYNEDD, DENBIGHSHIRE AND FLINTSHIRE; THE COUNTY BOROUGHS OF CONWY AND WREXHAM; THE FORMER METROPOLITAN COUNTRY OF MERSEYSIDE(COMPRISING WIRRAL, THE CITY OF LIVERPOOL, KNOWSLEY, ST HELENS, SEFTON AND HALTON); CHESHIRE EAST; CHESHIRE WEST AND CHESTER; AND THE COUNTIES OFSHROPSHIRE AND HEREFORDSHIRE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 19 March 2025, it had income of £24,500 and spent £14,996.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 19 March 2025 | £24,500 | £14,996 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2024 | £12,000 | £22,628 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2023 | £22,550 | £26,200 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2022 | £28,638 | £8,736 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2021 | £6,363 | £2,398 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 285%, from £6,363 in the year to 19 March 2021 to £24,500 in the year to 19 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 61% of its income in the year to 19 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 19 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 19 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- David BrownChair
- Jonathan Gammond
- Lynn Podmore
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 19 March 2025 | 19 January 2026 | Received 18 January 2026, 1 day early | Not required |
| 19 March 2024 | 19 January 2025 | Received 8 February 2025, 20 days late | Not required |
| 19 March 2023 | 19 January 2024 | Received 25 March 2024, 66 days late | Not required |
| 19 March 2022 | 19 January 2023 | Received 30 December 2022, 20 days early | Received 30 December 2022 |
| 19 March 2021 | 19 January 2022 | Received 4 December 2021, 46 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1188685
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 20 March 2020
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 02 DEC 2019
- Website
- www.umffta.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Wrexham
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.