Valley Veterans
What it does
We develop the capacity and skills of members, both socially and economically.We help members living in the Rhondda Cynon Taff community in such a way that they are better able to identify and help meet their needs and to participate more fully in society.We collaborate with community organizations supporting veterans to ensure that members' needs are understood and addressed appropriately.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CIO ARE FOR THE BENEFIT OF VETERANS OF ALL BRANCHES OF THE ARMED FORCES AND THEIR FAMILIES LIVING IN THE RHONDDA CYNON TAFF COMMUNITY:(1) THE PROMOTION OF SOCIAL INCLUSION AMONG VETERANS TO PREVENT THEM FROM BECOMING SOCIALLY EXCLUDED AND TO RELIEVE THE NEEDS OF THEM AND TO HELP THEM INTEGRATE INTO SOCIETY. FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS CLAUSE “SOCIALLY EXCLUDED” MEANS EXCLUDED FROM SOCIETY, OR PARTS OF SOCIETY, DUE TO MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES OR AS A RESULT OF BEING UNABLE TO ADJUST TO A CIVILIAN ENVIRONMENT.(2) TO RELIEVE FINANCIAL HARDSHIP; AND(3) THE RELIEF OF THE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL SICKNESS OF PERSONS IN NEED BY REASONS OF TRAUMA SUCH AS POST TRAUMATIC STRESS DISORDER, ADDICTIONS AND ISOLATION.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £92,236 and spent £105,542.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £92,236 | £105,542 | Not reported | 34 |
| 31 December 2024 | £102,006 | £61,813 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 December 2023 | £95,894 | £45,437 | Not reported | 7 |
| 31 December 2022 | £84,320 | £67,687 | Not reported | 5 |
| 5 February 2022 | £69,329 | £41,485 | Not reported | 10 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 33%, from £69,329 in the year to 5 February 2022 to £92,236 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 114% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council gave £35,039 in the year to 31 December 2025, 38% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £35,039 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £35,039 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £56,400 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £400 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 5 February 2022 | £1,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 5 funders who gave £76,229 between them. £35,039 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council | Council | £35,039 | £56,400 | £2,000 |
| Veterans Foundation | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | £4,375 | £6,125 |
| Adferiad | Trust, company or other | £8,690 | £2,060 | £10,650 |
| S East Wales A SSAFA | Trust, company or other | £4,000 | ||
| GBS RE Public Health | Trust, company or other | £3,500 | ||
| Transport for Wales | Trust, company or other | £25,213 | ||
| Postcode Community | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | ||
| Millennium Stadium | Trust, company or other | £7,500 | ||
| Waterloo Foundation | Trust, company or other | £1,500 | ||
| Interlink RCT | Trust, company or other | £1,150 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £131,000.
By funder
- Veterans Foundation£50,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£50,000, 1 grant
- Postcode Community Trust£25,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£6,000, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 18 Dec 2024 | Veterans Foundation | £50,000 |
| 29 Mar 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £25,000 |
| 3 Mar 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £50,000 |
| 18 Jan 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £1,000 |
| 23 Sept 2021 | Community Foundation in Wales | £5,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £169,486 between 13 January 2026 and 13 February 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £169,486 | 2 | 2025/26 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
29 April 2026, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in a decision of Council
ELECTIONS & APPOINTMENTS
25 September 2024, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Members' Questions
29 September 2022, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Armed Forces Steering Group
ARMED FORCES UPDATE REPORT AND PRESENTATION
1 March 2022, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Armed Forces Steering Group
UPDATE FROM THE ARMED FORCES LIAISON OFFICER
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
16 June 2026
Named by Rhun ap Iorwerth in the Senedd
One of my first visits as First Minister was to see Valley Veterans and to share with them stories of their time serving in the armed forces and to pledge to them our determination to deliver on the covenant that is so important to those who have served. Yes, I do believe that the defence sector in…
10 June 2026
Named by Sioned Williams in the Senedd
…rans and their families. The Prif Weinidog showed this clearly in one of the first visits that he has undertaken as Prif Weinidog. He visited Valley Veterans in Ton Pentre last week, where he made clear our commitment to the covenant and heard from veterans there. I firmly believe that the covenant…
9 June 2026
Named by Rhun ap Iorwerth in the Senedd
…e that veterans are able to find a home has to be at the very heart of our pledge to people who have served. I should say I visited last week Valley Veterans in the Rhondda valley, and enjoyed an hour or so in the company of veterans there, and hopefully was able to show our appreciation to them and…
4 June 2026
Named in a ministerial meeting or engagement: First Minister
Purpose: Valley Veterans.
Valley Veterans
15 November 2023
Named by Huw Irranca-Davies in the Senedd
…it does minor miracles every single day, working with and for veterans. It’s a chap called Paul Bromwell from the Rhondda valley. He founded Valley Veterans, a veterans-led charity supporting and improving the mental and physical health and well-being of veterans through equine and horticultural ac…
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- David HammondChair
- Alison Walker
- Julia Ferguson
- Nia Godsmark
- Roy Clark
- Stephen Roberts
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 14 October 2026, 17 days early | Received 14 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 30 October 2025, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 28 October 2024, 3 days early | Received 28 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 3 December 2023, 33 days late | Received 3 December 2023 |
| 5 February 2022 | 5 December 2022 | Received 30 November 2022, 5 days early | Received 30 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1192172
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 November 2020
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 05 Nov 2020
- Website
- www.valleyveterans.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.
Elsewhere in the Edau family
- OpenCouncil: council records that name this charity
- OpenSenedd: Senedd records that name this charity
- OpenCouncil: Rhondda Cynon Taf Council's meetings and decisions
- OpenEconomy: Rhondda Cynon Taf's economy in figures
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Pontypridd Cynon Merthyr
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Afan Ogwr Rhondda