Taff Rocks
What it does
Provide public workshops, classes and seminars for the tuition and creation of art using a variety of media
Its charitable purposes
THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT IN THE COUNTY BOROUGH OF MERTHYR TYDFIL IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY IN ABERFAN, MERTHYR VALE AND SURROUNDING AREAS BY FOSTERING AND PROMOTING UNDERSTANDING AND APPRECIATION OF THE ARTS, INCLUDING BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY THE PROVISION OF CLASSES, SEMINARS AND TRAINING COURSES AND IN SUCH OTHER WAYS AS THE TRUSTEES SEE FIT.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Merthyr Tydfil
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 January 2026, it had income of £28,891 and spent £18,656.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 January 2026 | £28,891 | £18,656 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 January 2025 | £15,165 | £13,790 | Not reported | 2 |
| 12 January 2024 | £2,963 | £9,743 | Not reported | 3 |
| 12 January 2023 | £20,964 | £8,296 | Not reported | 1 |
| 12 January 2022 | £19,800 | £3,216 | Not reported | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 46%, from £19,800 in the year to 12 January 2022 to £28,891 in the year to 31 January 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 65% of its income in the year to 31 January 2026. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Invest Local 2 gave £14,032 in the year to 31 January 2026, 49% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 January 2025: £6,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 January 2025 | £6,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 12 January 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 12 January 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 January 2026, the charity named 4 funders who gave £22,070 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Jan 2026 | Jan 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Invest Local 2 | Trust, company or other | £14,032 | |
| Driving Change | Trust, company or other | £4,432 | |
| Amswer Carers Grant | Trust, company or other | £2,563 | |
| Merthyr Valley Homes | Trust, company or other | £1,043 | |
| MTCBC Grant | Trust, company or other | £6,000 | |
| ILY Driving Change Grant | Trust, company or other | £4,432 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £19,966, awarded in 2026.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 27 May 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,966 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Nicola Denise HillChair
- Darryl Stewart John Wilson
- Jasmine Emily Wilson
- Martin Dinham
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 January 2026 | 30 November 2026 | Received 25 September 2026, 66 days early | Received 25 September 2026 |
| 31 January 2025 | 30 November 2025 | Received 28 August 2025, 94 days early | Received 28 August 2025 |
| 12 January 2024 | 12 November 2024 | Received 22 October 2024, 21 days early | Received 22 October 2024 |
| 12 January 2023 | 12 November 2023 | Received 16 October 2023, 27 days early | Received 16 October 2023 |
| 12 January 2022 | 12 November 2022 | Received 9 November 2022, 3 days early | Received 9 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1192749
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 December 2020
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 10 Dec 2020 as amended on 06 Oct 2022 as amended on 13 Mar 2024
- Website
- www.taffrocks.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Merthyr Tydfil
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.