Menter Iaith Rhondda Cynon Taf
What it does
Mae Menter Iaith Rhondda Cynon Taf yn darparu, hyrwyddo a chydlynu gweithgareddau a gwasanaethau celfyddydol, addysgol a diwyllianol Cymraeg yn Rhondda Cynon Taf. Rydym yn fan cyswllt i fudiadau eraill yn y Sir, ac yn gweithio'n bartneriaethol. Trwy ein gweithredoedd, ein nod yw sicrhau bod holl drigolion a mudiadau y Sir yn teimlo perchnogaeth a balchder o'u hiaith a'u diwylliant Cymraeg .
Its charitable purposes
I WELLA ADDYSG Y CYHOEDD AM YR IAITH GYMRAEG A HYRWYDDO’R IAITH GYMRAEG YN DDIWYLLIANNOL A THRWY’R CELFYDDYDAU.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £366,278 and spent £375,634.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £366,278 | £375,634 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 March 2024 | £328,253 | £346,242 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 March 2023 | £388,728 | £321,697 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 March 2022 | £274,906 | £259,721 | Not reported | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 33%, from £274,906 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £366,278 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 103% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 4 years shown.
- Money from government
- 88% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£323,625).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £107,768 from 2 grants. Government contracts: £215,857 from 6 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £107,768 from 2 grants | £215,857 from 6 contracts |
| 31 March 2024 | £27,200 from 4 grants | £137,956 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2023 | £64,686 from 6 grants | £165,154 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | £133,834 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £69,200.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£30,000, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£30,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£9,200, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Jan 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £20,000 |
| 30 Jun 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £30,000 |
| 10 Dec 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
| 23 Jul 2021 | Community Foundation in Wales |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
12 June 2025
Named by Osian Rowlands in the Senedd
Good morning. Osian Rowlands, chief executive, Menter Iaith Rhondda Cynon Taf. Bore da. Osian Rowlands, prif weithredwr Menter Iaith Rhondda Cynon Taf.
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Hefin GruffyddChair
- Brett James Duggan
- Dafydd Roberts
- David Michael West
- Emma Thompson
- Jayne Rogers
- Mark Adey
- Susan Jenkins
Filing record
Of the last 4 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 11 December 2025, 51 days early | Received 11 December 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 12 December 2024, 50 days early | Received 12 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 18 January 2024, 13 days early | Received 18 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 22 December 2022, 40 days early | Received 22 December 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1193915
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 24 March 2021
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 24 Mar 2021 as amended on 15 Jan 2025
- Website
- www.menteriaith.cymru
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.