21 Plus
What it does
21 Plus is a charity which supports, nurtures and empowers children and young people with Downs Syndrome and their families.Our activities focus on building the communication skills of our children and young people, providing opportunities to develop friendships and independence and ensuring that families have the necessary information and support to ensure their child reaches their potential.
Its charitable purposes
TO ENABLE PEOPLE WITH DOWN SYNDROME TO REACH THEIR FULL POTENTIAL AND LIVE FULFILLED AND ACTIVE LIVES, THROUGH THE PROVISION OF TRAINING, SUPPORT, EDUCATION AND PRACTICAL ADVICE.TO PROMOTE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC, PARENTS AND CARERS OF PEOPLE WITH DS, AND PROFESSIONALS INVOLVED IN THEIR CARE AND EDUCATION, IN THE SPECIFIC NEEDS AND ABILITIES OF PEOPLE WITH DS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Monmouthshire
- Powys
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Cardiff
- Torfaen
- Elsewhere
- Herefordshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 1 January 2026, it had income of £83,371 and spent £79,108.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 January 2026 | £83,371 | £79,108 | Not reported | 40 |
| 1 January 2025 | £70,940 | £71,394 | Not reported | 40 |
| 1 January 2024 | £81,201 | £56,065 | Not reported | 30 |
| 1 January 2023 | £30,905 | £51,722 | Not reported | 3 |
| 1 January 2022 | £46,966 | £11,050 | Not reported | 5 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 78%, from £46,966 in the year to 1 January 2022 to £83,371 in the year to 1 January 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 95% of its income in the year to 1 January 2026. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Blackwood Engineering gave £13,000 in the year to 1 January 2025, 18% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 1 January 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 1 January 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 1 January 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 1 January 2023 | £1,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 1 January 2025, the charity named 3 funders who gave £33,000 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Jan 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Blackwood Engineering | Trust, company or other | £13,000 |
| Mandarin Stone | Trust, company or other | £10,000 |
| Postcode Community | Trust, company or other | £10,000 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Blackwood Engineering Trust | 30 April 2023 | £11,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £53,999.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£37,999, 3 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£10,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£6,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 13 May 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,999 |
| 25 Feb 2025 | Community Foundation in Wales | £6,000 |
| 29 Mar 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £10,000 |
| 21 Mar 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Gabrielle PreeceChair
- Bridgid Corr
- Dr Carolyn Pennington
- Emma Mellor
- Jane Williams
- Lucinda James
- Nikki Davies
- Rachel Champken
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 January 2026 | 1 November 2026 | Received 7 October 2026, 25 days early | Received 7 October 2026 |
| 1 January 2025 | 1 November 2025 | Received 26 October 2025, 6 days early | Received 26 October 2025 |
| 1 January 2024 | 1 November 2024 | Received 16 October 2024, 16 days early | Received 16 October 2024 |
| 1 January 2023 | 1 November 2023 | Received 12 October 2023, 20 days early | Received 12 October 2023 |
| 1 January 2022 | 1 November 2022 | Received 20 January 2023, 80 days late | Received 20 January 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1194335
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 May 2021
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 05 May 2021
- Website
- 21plus.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Blaenau Gwent
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.