Jones the Dance Cyf
What it does
Jones the Dance has been making, sharing and presenting the highest quality and bold contemporary dance in Wales since 2014. Jones the Dance's vision is to connect people across our languages, cultures and communities through work that is made from the hearts of Wales, and is globally inspired.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROMOTION OF THE ARTS, AND IN PARTICULAR, BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY, THE ART OF DANCE AND DRAMA FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT INCLUDING BY (BUT NOT LIMITED TO):THE CREATION, PRODUCTION AND PERFORMANCE OF DANCE AND THEATRE PRODUCTIONS AND EXHIBITIONSPROVIDING SEMINARS, WORKSHOPS, AND MASTERCLASSES TO THE PUBLIC, INCLUDING ARTS PROFESSIONALS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £220,550 and spent £203,543.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £220,550 | £203,543 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £240,451 | £164,347 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £119,157 | £93,827 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 85%, from £119,157 in the year to 31 March 2023 to £220,550 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 92% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 3 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £52,767 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £93,360 from 6 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cyngor Celfyddydau Cymru | 31 March 2023 | £10,250 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2025, worth at least £39,920.
By funder
- Postcode Community Trust£20,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£19,920, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 9 Sept 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,920 |
| 31 Mar 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £20,000 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
8 February 2024
Named by Eluned Haf in the Senedd
…I could reel off a number of other networks and showcase events that we support artists to attend. But, obviously, in the past, dancers like Jones the Dance would have had their funding from Creative Europe. Our companies and our individuals who used to have money coming directly to them from Creat…
8 February 2024
Named by Eluned Haf in the Senedd
…ntiers, for example, but also our companies and our individual artists. You have a series of presentations in your packs from artists such as Jones the Dance, NoFit State, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Welsh National Opera—companies and individuals who have really been really impacted, now, b…
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Alicia Wiseman
- Anna Edel Maire Sherratt
- David Hopkins
- Hazel Lam
- Jess Whysall
- Jules Dominic Young
- Lisa Jayne Webb-Eggleshaw
- Lydia Mary Bassett
- Timothy Harrison
Filing record
Of the last 3 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 30 January 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 January 2025, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 24 January 2024, 7 days early | Received 24 January 2024 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1196139
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 13 October 2021
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 10 AUG 2015AS AMENDED BY CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION ON CHANGE OF NAME DATED 15 NOV 2020NOW ARTICLES ADOPTED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 19 MAR 2021AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 12 OCT 2021
- Company number
- 09725605This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.jonesthedance.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.