Community Hands
What it does
Community hands is a charity who offer support to persons or families in need or who are homeless and we empower the community to support each other,we create and seek resources to help them acquire settled lives in the community.
Its charitable purposes
THE PREVENTION AND RELIEF OF POVERTY IN THE FLINTSHIRE AND CHESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL AREA FOR THOSE IN NEED, ESPECIALLY THE HOMELESS AND FAMILIES IN CRISIS, BY PROVIDING COMPASSIONATE AND PRACTICAL HELP INCLUDING: PROVISION OF ESSENTIAL ITEMS, ADVOCACY, HOUSING ADVICE, CAREER COACHING, EDUCATION AND SERVICES TO INDIVIDUALS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides other finance
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Flintshire
- Elsewhere
- Cheshire West & Chester
Income and spending
In the year ending 20 July 2025, it had income of £4,285 and spent £9,406.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 July 2025 | £4,285 | £9,406 | Not reported | 3 |
| 20 July 2024 | £22,003 | £23,416 | Not reported | 8 |
| 20 July 2023 | £8,756 | £14,996 | Not reported | 10 |
| 20 July 2022 | £14,112 | £1,111 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 70%, from £14,112 in the year to 20 July 2022 to £4,285 in the year to 20 July 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 220% of its income in the year to 20 July 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 4 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 20 July 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 20 July 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 20 July 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 20 July 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
27 September 2023
Named by Siân Gwenllian in the Senedd
…s as part of this new network, many of them in my constituency of Arfon: yr Orsaf, Penygroes; Galeri, Caernarfon; Partneriaeth Ogwen; pubs in community hands; community transport; and community renewable energy schemes. Menter Felinheli is a member of Cymunedoli, one of the newest members, and, as I…
27 February 2023
Named by Luke Fletcher in the Senedd
…nts always told me that they contributed out of their pay packet every month—so I think it's vitally important, really, that we keep these in community hands, going forward. And I think there's a role for Welsh Government, certainly. There's also a role for UK Government, and I think a lot of us on…
7 July 2022
Named by Chris Cowcher in the Senedd
…rly £20 million a year over the next six years, which means that even more funding will be available to support even more assets to come into community hands. But—and I think we'll touch on it later, picking up around legislation—the land fund operates so well in Scotland because it's coupled with a…
7 July 2022
Named by Chris Cowcher in the Senedd
…ards the purchase of the grant or the improvement of a building, because for many they are in a redundant or a poor state when they come into community hands, but you also need to be able to provide revenue funding to make sure that, as the group is developing and they're on the pathway towards comm…
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Kelly Ann JonesChair
- Arwel Thomas Evans
- Beris Ann Hadaway
- Diane jean Kennedy
Filing record
Of the last 4 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 July 2025 | 20 May 2026 | Received 17 May 2026, 3 days early | Received 17 May 2026 |
| 20 July 2024 | 20 May 2025 | Received 18 May 2025, 2 days early | Received 18 May 2025 |
| 20 July 2023 | 20 May 2024 | Received 29 May 2024, 9 days late | Received 29 May 2024 |
| 20 July 2022 | 20 May 2023 | Received 25 April 2023, 25 days early | Received 25 April 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1196911
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 3 December 2021
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 03 Dec 2021
- Council area of its contact address
- Flintshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.