Sied Dynion Abergele Men’s Shed
What it does
We facilitate our members to socialise and take part in making wooden items ie wooden benches etc, from reclaimed/recycled materials. We also repair items for the local community. With the skills of our membership and using tools and machinery donated by members or purchased with proceeds from donations. We are currently located in a former church hall which we rent.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE SOCIAL INCLUSION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY PREVENTING MEN, PARTICULARLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY OLDER MEN, WITHIN ABERGELE AND THE SURROUNDING AREA, FROM BECOMING SOCIALLY EXCLUDED, RELIEVING THE NEEDS OF THOSE PEOPLE WHO ARE SOCIALLY EXCLUDED AND ASSISTING THEM TO INTEGRATE INTO SOCIETY THROUGH THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN WHICH THEY CAN MEET JOINTLY OR INDIVIDUALLY TO UNDERTAKE CREATIVE, SOCIAL AND RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES, LEARN OR PASS ON SKILLS AND KNOWLEDGE AND SUPPORT EACH OTHER SOCIALLY. FOR THE PURPOSE OF THIS CLAUSE 'SOCIALLY EXCLUDED' MEANS BEING EXCLUDED FROM SOCIETY, OR PARTS OF SOCIETY, AS A RESULT OF ONE OF MORE OF THE FOLLOWING FACTORS: UNEMPLOYMENT; FINANCIAL HARDSHIP; YOUTH OR OLD AGE; ILL HEALTH (PHYSICAL OR MENTAL).
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
Area of benefit in its governing document: Local
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 October 2025, it had income of £4,391 and spent £11,455.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | £4,391 | £11,455 | Not reported | 32 |
| 31 October 2024 | £11,755 | £20,765 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 October 2023 | £39,982 | £31,130 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 October 2022 | £6,739 | £2,250 | Not reported | 25 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 35%, from £6,739 in the year to 31 October 2022 to £4,391 in the year to 31 October 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 261% of its income in the year to 31 October 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 4 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 October 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2024 | £6,280 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 October 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £26,136, awarded in 2023.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 20 Jan 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £26,136 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Douglas Jackson
- Gareth BOYES
- Joseph Michael Deag Bird
- Kevin Moors
- Paul Watson
Filing record
Of the last 4 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | 31 August 2026 | Received 7 January 2026, 236 days early | Received 7 January 2026 |
| 31 October 2024 | 31 August 2025 | Received 1 July 2025, 61 days early | Received 1 July 2025 |
| 31 October 2023 | 31 August 2024 | Received 8 February 2024, 205 days early | Received 8 February 2024 |
| 31 October 2022 | 31 August 2023 | Received 21 July 2023, 41 days early | Received 21 July 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1197478
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 13 January 2022
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION REGISTERED ONREGISTERED ON 13 JAN 2022AMENDED TO CIO ASSOCIATION 16 FEB 2024
- Council area of its contact address
- Conwy
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.