Cycling Without Age.porthcawl Joy-riders
What it does
We deliver free of charge Trishaws rides to the elderly and the younger less abled along the seafront of Porthcawl.Our main focus are the numerous Care Homes in Porthcawl and further on to Bridgend.We operate throughout the year, weather permitting. We are run entirely by volunteers.
Its charitable purposes
OBJECTSTHE OBJECTS OF THE CIO ARE AS FOLLOWS: THE RELIEF OF PERSONS IN PORTHCAWL AND SURROUNDING AREA WHO ARE IN NEED, BY REASON OF THEIR AGE, RESTRICTED MOBILITY, OR DISABILITY, BY PROVIDING VOLUNTEER LED ACCESSIBLE TRISHAW CYCLE RIDES TO HELP THEM GAIN A SOCIAL CONNECTION AND TO ASSIST THEM TO INTEGRATE INTO THE COMMUNITY.3.2 NOTHING IN THIS CONSTITUTION SHALL AUTHORISE AN APPLICATION OF THE PROPERTY OF THE CIO FOR PURPOSES THAT ARE NOT CHARITABLE IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 7 OF THE CHARITIES AND TRUSTEE INVESTMENT (SCOTLAND) ACT 2005 AND SECTION 2 OF THE CHARITIES ACT (NORTHERN IRELAND) 2008.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 May 2026, it had income of £16,874 and spent £16,655.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2026 | £16,874 | £16,655 | Not reported | 19 |
| 31 May 2025 | £7,880 | £4,669 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 May 2024 | £9,484 | £3,762 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 May 2023 | £19,947 | £19,935 | Not reported | 22 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 15%, from £19,947 in the year to 31 May 2023 to £16,874 in the year to 31 May 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 99% of its income in the year to 31 May 2026. It spent less than its income in each of the 4 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 May 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2025, worth at least £16,000.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 3 Aug 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,200 |
| 6 Nov 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,800 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Stephen McCreeryChair
- Marie-Claire Hopkin
- Robert Theil
Filing record
Of the last 4 annual returns that were due, 1 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2026 | 31 March 2027 | Received 19 August 2026, 224 days early | Received 19 August 2026 |
| 31 May 2025 | 31 March 2026 | Received 30 June 2026, 91 days late | Received 30 June 2026 |
| 31 May 2024 | 31 March 2025 | Received 3 April 2025, 3 days late | Received 3 April 2025 |
| 31 May 2023 | 31 March 2024 | Received 4 June 2024, 65 days late | Received 4 June 2024 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1199182
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 6 June 2022
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 06 Jun 2022
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.