Ucan Productions
What it does
The charity runs a wide variety of creative workshops, which are aimed at improving both physical and vocal confidence and the overall well-being of its participants. Workshop themes include drama, sound technology and music. UCAN runs Maggie's Club for vision impaired children and young people with additional needs, delivers Arts Awards and supports the vision impaired sector in Wales and beyond.
Its charitable purposes
1) THE PROMOTION OF SOCIAL INCLUSION PARTICULARLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY IN WALES, AMONG YOUNG PEOPLE WITH VISUAL IMPAIRMENT AND ADDITIONAL NEEDS WHO ARE EXCLUDED FROM SOCIETY, OR PARTS OF SOCIETY, DUE TO THEIR DISABILITY BY THE PROVISION OF OPPORTUNITIES TO PARTICIPATE IN ACTIVITIES, EVENTS AND EXPERIENCES WHICH ENCOURAGE THE BUILDING OF CONFIDENCE, SELF ESTEEM, NEW FRIENDSHIPS AND SUPPORT NETWORKS TOGETHER WITH THE DEVELOPMENT OF NEW SKILLS WHICH WILL WHICH HELP TO PREVENT SOCIAL ISOLATION, PRESERVE AND PROTECT GOOD MENTAL HEALTH AND WELLBEING AND ASSIST THEIR INTEGRATION INTO SOCIETY.2) TO ADVANCE IN LIFE AND HELP YOUNG PEOPLE PARTICULARLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY IN WALES, THROUGH:(A) THE PROVISION OF RECREATIONAL AND LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES PROVIDED IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE, DESIGNED TO IMPROVE THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE;(B) PROVIDING SUPPORT AND ACTIVITIES WHICH DEVELOP THEIR SKILLS, CAPACITIES AND CAPABILITIES TO ENABLE THEM TO PARTICIPATE IN SOCIETY AS MATURE AND RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Disability
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £160,297 and spent £144,099.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £160,297 | £144,099 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £166,872 | £137,074 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2023 | £230,538 | £155,605 | Not reported | 25 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 30%, from £230,538 in the year to 31 March 2023 to £160,297 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 90% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 3 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: £4,000 from 1 contract.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | £4,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | £3,387 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 18 grants to this charity since 2007, worth at least £795,461.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£360,681, 7 grants
- BBC Children in Need£280,326, 5 grants
- Nesta£72,487, 2 grants
- People's Health Trust£37,434, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£29,750, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£14,783, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Jan 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,980 |
| 6 Jun 2023 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £3,200 between 13 April 2026 and 13 April 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | £3,200 | 2 | 2026/27 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
7 March 2024, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
25 January 2024, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
30 November 2023, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
26 October 2023, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
21 September 2023, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
25 May 2023, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Lord Mayor's Announcements
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- Professor Alyson Mary ReesChair
- Dorian James Brunt
- Dr Bablin Molik
- Dr Joy Margaret Woodhouse
- Jayne Worsey
- Jennnifer Blackmore
- John Sanders
- Lloyd Coleman
- Owen James Williams
- Sara McKay
Filing record
Of the last 3 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 13 October 2025, 110 days early | Received 13 October 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 1 October 2024, 122 days early | Received 1 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 20 January 2024, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2024 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1201369
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 December 2022
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 16 AUG 2005AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 11 JAN 2007AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 11 APR 2021AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 26 APR 2021AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 09 DEC 2022
- Company number
- 05537893This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.ucanproductions.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.