Glamorgan Federation of Women's Institutes
What it does
The charity has not given a description on the register.
Its charitable purposes
3.1 THE OBJECTS OF THE FEDERATION ARE TO FURTHER THE PURPOSES OF THE WOMEN’S INSTITUTE MOVEMENT IN GLAMORGAN AND ELSEWHERE.3.2 THE MAIN PURPOSES OF THE WOMEN’S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION ARE: (A) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF WOMEN AND GIRLS FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT IN ALL AREAS INCLUDING (WITHOUT LIMITATION):I. LOCAL, NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL ISSUES OF POLITICAL AND SOCIAL IMPORTANCE;II. MUSIC, DRAMA AND OTHER CULTURAL SUBJECTS; ANDIII. ALL BRANCHES OF AGRICULTURE, CRAFTS, HOME ECONOMICS, SCIENCE, HEALTH AND SOCIAL WELFARE;(B) TO PROMOTE SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY:I. EDUCATING PEOPLE IN THE PRESERVATION, CONSERVATION AND PROTECTION OF THE ENVIRONMENT AND THE PRUDENT USE OF NATURAL RESOURCES; ANDII. PROMOTING SUSTAINABLE MEANS OF ACHIEVING ECONOMIC GROWTH AND REGENERATION;(C) TO ADVANCE HEALTH FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT; AND(D) TO ADVANCE CITIZENSHIP FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY THE PROMOTION OF CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY AND VOLUNTEERING.23.3 IN CLAUSE 3.2 “SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT” MEANS DEVELOPMENT WHICH MEETS THE NEEDS OF THE PRESENT GENERATION WITHOUT COMPROMISING THE ABILITY OF FUTURE GENERATIONS TO MEET THEIR NEEDS.3.4 THE WOMEN’S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION SEEKS TO GIVE WOMEN THE OPPORTUNITY OF WORKING TOGETHER THROUGH THE WOMEN’S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION IN THEIR COMMUNITIES, OF DEVELOPING THEIR CAPACITY AND SKILLS, AND OF PUTTING INTO PRACTICE THOSE IDEALS FOR WHICH THE WOMEN’S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION STANDS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 October 2025, it had income of £328,826 and spent £112,269.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | £328,826 | £112,269 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2024 | £95,000 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 246%, from £95,000 in the year to 31 October 2024 to £328,826 in the year to 31 October 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 34% of its income in the year to 31 October 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 2 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Denman Grant gave £10,000 in the year to 31 October 2025, 3% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 October 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 October 2025, the charity named 1 funder who gave £10,000. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Oct 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Denman Grant | Trust, company or other | £10,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Belinda Hansford
- Daphne Patricia Furneaux
- Diane Howard Willis
- Margaret Maguire
- Myra Elizabeth Thomas
- Patricia James
Filing record
Of the last 2 annual returns that were due, 1 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | 31 August 2026 | Received 23 June 2026, 69 days early | Received 23 June 2026 |
| 31 October 2024 | 31 August 2025 | Received 20 May 2026, 262 days late | Received 19 May 2026 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1206209
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 14 December 2023
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 14 Dec 2023
- Website
- www.thewi.org.uk/glamorgan
- Council area of its contact address
- Neath Port Talbot
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.