Hafren Youth Strings
What it does
The charity provides practical support to young musicians who play stringed instruments in Hafren Youth Strings ensembles.It raises funds to enable members to take part in weekly rehearsals, attend special workshops and perform in public concerts.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CIO ARE:TO ADVANCE THE MUSICAL EDUCATION OF YOUNG PERSONS, PRIMARILY BETWEEN THE AGES OF 7 - 17 LIVING IN MONTGOMERYSHIRE AND THE SURROUNDING AREAS, BY THE PROVISION OF TRAINING IN ORCHESTRAL STRING PLAYING AND THE PRESENTATION OF PUBLIC CONCERTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £8,169 and spent £4,664.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £8,169 | £4,664 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 December 2024 | £2,186 | £2,394 | Not reported | 5 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 274%, from £2,186 in the year to 31 December 2024 to £8,169 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 57% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 2 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £1,500 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £1,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Catherine Margaret AndrewsChair
- Christopher Alexander Himsworth
- Emily Jayne Armstrong
- Kathleen Elizabeth Harvey
Filing record
Of the last 2 annual returns that were due, 2 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 21 October 2026, 10 days early | Received 21 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 October 2025, 4 days early | Received 27 October 2025 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1207450
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 14 March 2024
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 14 Mar 2024
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.