The Slocombe Cottages for the Aged and Infirm
What it does
The objects of the Trust include the provision of housing and associated amenities for elderly persons in necessitous circumstances upon terms appropriate to their means.
Its charitable purposes
FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE RESIDENTS IN THE ALMSHOUSES OF THE CHARITY OR ANY OF THEM IN SUCH MANNER AS THE TRUSTEES THINK FIT FROM TIME TO TIME, THE RESIDENTS SHALL BE AGED PERSONS IN NEED WHO (EXCEPT IN SPECIAL CASES TO BE APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONERS) WERE BORN IN OR ARE INHABITANTS OF THE CITY OF CARDIFF.
Causes
- What it works on
- Accommodation and housing
- Who it helps
- Older people
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: City of Cardiff
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 September 2025, it had income of £15,941 and spent £27,920.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | £15,941 | £27,920 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2024 | £15,121 | £27,182 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2023 | £15,580 | £25,037 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2022 | £14,948 | £23,868 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2021 | £13,711 | £23,285 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 16%, from £13,711 in the year to 30 September 2021 to £15,941 in the year to 30 September 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 175% of its income in the year to 30 September 2025. It spent more than its income in 5 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 September 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Alison Mary Tansom
- Anne Hinchey
- Stuart Epps
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | 30 July 2026 | Received 27 May 2026, 64 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2024 | 30 July 2025 | Received 7 July 2025, 23 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2023 | 30 July 2024 | Received 4 July 2024, 26 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2022 | 30 July 2023 | Received 20 June 2023, 40 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2021 | 30 July 2022 | Received 1 July 2022, 29 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 214365
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 February 1963
- Governing document
- SCHEME OF 9 JUNE 1988. AS AMENDED BY SCHEME OF 28 AUGUST 1997.
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.