Carmarthenshire Blind Society
What it does
IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE WE PROVIDE A WEEKLY RESOURCE CENTRE, AND DROP IN CENTRE AT LLANELLI, WHICH IS OPEN TO ALL REGISTERED MEMBERS FROM THE ENTIRE COUNTY, WHICH INCLUDES COMPUTER FACILITIES WITH DOLPHIN SOFTWARE PACKAGES AND FULL CCTV AND DOCUMENT READERS..HOWEVER, AT THE MOMENT WE ARE UNABLE TO PROVIDE TRAINING FACILITIES. BUT THE EQUIPMENT IS AVAILABLE FOR DEMONSTRATION.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE WELFARE AND WELL BEING OF ALL VISUALLY IMPAIRED PEOPLE, BOTH BLIND AND PARTIALLY SIGHTED, THROUGHOUT THE COUNTY OF CARMARTHENSHIRE, IN SUCH MANNER AS MAY BE DECIDED FROM TIME TO TIME BY THE TRUSTEES OF THE SOCIETY
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Carmarthenshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Former County of Carmarthenshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £86,528 and spent £52,716.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £86,528 | £52,716 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2025 | £43,297 | £37,463 | Not reported | 14 |
| 31 March 2024 | £52,712 | £25,177 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 March 2023 | £87,031 | £29,284 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2022 | £129,573 | £41,639 | Not reported | 18 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 33%, from £129,573 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £86,528 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 61% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Lyn JamesChair
- Alun Wyn Griffiths
- Delyth Armstrong
- Janice Thomas
- Margaret Gillian Griffiths
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 2 October 2026, 121 days early | Received 2 October 2026 |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 5 November 2025, 87 days early | Received 5 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 2 May 2025, 91 days late | Received 25 March 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 2 May 2025, 457 days late | Received 25 March 2025 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 30 January 2023, 1 day early | Received 2 February 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 219551
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 28 June 1963
- Governing document
- ANCIENT SOCIETY FOUNDED IN 1860 REGISTERED IN ACCORDANCE WITH NATIONAL ASSISTANCE ACT 1948 GOVERNED BY CONSTITUTION DATED 24 SEPTEMBER 2007 AS AMEDED 2008 AS AMENDED 18 JULY 2016
- Council area of its contact address
- Pembrokeshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.