The Llandaff Diocesan Board of Finance
What it does
FINANCING THE PROVISION OF PAROCHIAL CLERGY WITHIN THE DIOCESE OF LLANDAFF, PART OF THE CHURCH IN WALES, AND OTHER PURPOSES WITHIN THE MISSION AND MINISTRY OF THE CHURCH IN WALES IN THE DIOCESE OF LLANDAFF
Its charitable purposes
2.1 The Objects of the Charity are for the public benefit to promote, aid, further and assist wholly charitable objects and work of The Church in Wales (wherever carried out but in particular in the ecclesiastical area known as the Diocese of Llandaff).
Causes
- What it works on
- Accommodation and housing
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
- Bridgend
- Caerphilly
- Cardiff
- Merthyr Tydfil
- Neath Port Talbot
- Newport City
- Vale of Glamorgan
- Torfaen
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Principality of Wales, the County of Monmouth Anddiocese of Llandaff
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £6,247,792 and spent £7,400,780.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £6,247,792 | £7,400,780 | 29 | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £7,089,163 | £8,125,441 | 30 | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £7,170,987 | £7,966,449 | 26 | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £6,515,937 | £7,456,462 | 22 | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £8,214,600 | £8,228,431 | 13 | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 24%, from £8,214,600 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £6,247,792 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 118% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 5 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Representative Body of the Church in Wales gave £998,719 in the year to 31 December 2025, 16% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £26,942 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£5,626,859
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£274,911
- Investments£346,022
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 5 funders who gave £1,485,125 between them. £100,000 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Representative Body of the Church in Wales | Trust, company or other | £998,719 | £987,681 |
| Llan Ministry Area | Trust, company or other | £220,000 | |
| Port Talbot Ministry Area Council | Council | £100,000 | £194,172 |
| East Vale Ministry Area | Trust, company or other | £89,406 | £84,331 |
| Dean and Chapter of Llandaff Cathedral | Trust, company or other | £77,000 | £21,229 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 14 grants to this charity since 1997, worth at least £1,951,989.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£1,778,600, 5 grants
- Benefact Trust£106,502, 3 grants
- National Churches Trust£43,000, 2 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£15,000, 2 grants
- The National Lottery Community Fund£8,887, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 18 Sept 2025 | Benefact Trust | £29,793 |
| 17 Jul 2024 | Benefact Trust | £35,468 |
| 18 Sept 2023 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 143 payments to this charity worth £1,208,918 between 26 January 2021 and 7 September 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £1,024,318 | 10 | 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26, 2026/27 |
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | £184,300 | 129 | 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26, 2026/27 |
| Monmouthshire County Council | £300 | 4 | 2020/21 |
Trustees
13 trustees run the charity.
- Michael Anthony LawleyChair
- Christian Salisbury
- David Julian Luke
- Dr Elizabeth Heather Payne
- Patricia Anne Blackwell
- Rev Richard Gratton
- Rev Robert John McDonald
- Revd Canon Michael David GABLE
- Rhys Evans
- The Right Reverend Mary Kathleen Rose Stallard
- The Venerable Anne-Marie Louise Renshaw
- Venerable Mark Richard Preece
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 6 October 2026, 25 days early | Received 6 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 9 September 2025, 52 days early | Received 9 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 16 August 2024, 76 days early | Received 16 August 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 17 August 2023, 75 days early | Received 8 September 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 29 September 2022, 32 days early | Received 29 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 242452
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 20 May 1965
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 21/11/1950 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTIONS DATED 25/05/1959, 3/07/1959, 6/07/1983, 24/9/2003 AND 24/9/2008. as amended on 08 Jan 2021
- Company number
- 00488549This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- llandaff.churchinwales.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.