Pencare
What it does
The charity provides for those in need, by reason of youth, age, ill-health, disability or financial hardship, such beneficiaries being of the Jewish faith and living in the local Jewish community or with a significant connection to the local Jewish community. For the advancement of the Jewish faith the charity also makes grant to synagogues in the local Jewish community.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CHARITY ARE FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT AND SPECIFICALLY RESTRICTED TO: 1. THE RELIEF OF THOSE IN NEED, BY REASON OF YOUTH, AGE, ILL- HEALTH, DISABILITY, OR FINANCIAL HARDSHIP, SUCH BENEFICIARIES BEING: A. AGED PERSONS OF THE JEWISH FAITH LIVING IN THE LOCAL JEWISH COMMUNITY; B. OTHER PERSONS OF THE JEWISH FAITH LIVING IN THE LOCAL JEWISH COMMUNITY; C. OTHER PERSONS WITH A SIGNIFICANT CONNECTION TO THE LOCAL JEWISH COMMUNITY; D. OTHER PERSONS IN NEED; AND 2. THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE JEWISH FAITH FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT, INCLUDING BY THE MAKING OF GRANTS TO SYNAGOGUES IN THE LOCAL JEWISH COMMUNITY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Accommodation and housing
- Religious activities
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides other finance
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: National
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £128,770 and spent £219,448.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £128,770 | £219,448 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £127,227 | £174,373 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2023 | £132,464 | £143,467 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2022 | £126,937 | £102,151 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2021 | £117,829 | £109,346 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 9%, from £117,829 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £128,770 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 170% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Judith Cotsen JPChair
- Dr RALPH WHITTEN
- Janet Whitten
- John Minkes
- Laurence Kahn
- Lynice Cawston
- Philip David Stewart
- Ruth Levene
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 10 January 2026, 21 days early | Received 10 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 13 January 2025, 18 days early | Received 13 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 28 January 2024, 3 days early | Received 28 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 22 January 2023, 9 days early | Received 22 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 15 January 2022, 16 days early | Received 15 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 243968
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 August 1965
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 24/03/1946AS AMENDED ON 12/07/1988AS AMENDED ON 14/01/2003AS AMENDED ON 22/10/2006AS AMENDED ON 12/12/2010AS AMENDED ON 10/02/2013AS AMENDED ON 02 OCT 2017 as amended on 09 May 2023
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.