The Priory for Wales of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem
What it does
Fundraising, transport of patients, sale of first aid supplies, first aid and other health and safetytraining, providing first aid cover, youth programmes.
Its charitable purposes
THE ENCOURAGEMENT AND PROMOTION OF ALL WORKS OF HUMANITY AND CHARITY FOR THE RELIEF OF PERSONS IN SICKNESS, DISTRESS, SUFFERING AND DANGER, WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF RACE, CLASS, OR CREED.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £8,080,755 and spent £7,940,043.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £8,080,755 | £7,940,043 | 155 | 1,239 |
| 31 December 2024 | £8,045,248 | £8,656,882 | 179 | 2,023 |
| 31 December 2023 | £8,299,397 | £9,215,837 | 209 | 2,602 |
| 31 December 2022 | £8,605,272 | £8,875,773 | 220 | 3,412 |
| 31 December 2021 | £7,706,511 | £7,589,944 | 187 | 3,704 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 5%, from £7,706,511 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £8,080,755 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 44% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£3,575,404).
- Largest funder
- St John of Jerusalem Eye Hospital gave £3,061 in the year to 31 December 2025, 0% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £159,011 from 16 grants. Government contracts: £3,416,393 from 22 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £159,011 from 16 grants | £3,416,393 from 22 contracts |
| 31 December 2024 | £228,209 from 18 grants | £3,361,827 from 7 contracts |
| 31 December 2023 | £136,991 from 10 grants | £3,845,625 from 15 contracts |
| 31 December 2022 | £191,105 from 13 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £672,785 from 12 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£936,176
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£6,600,479
- Trading and fundraising£137,174
- Investments£50,127
- Other£356,799
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 1 funder who gave £3,061. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| St John of Jerusalem Eye Hospital | Trust, company or other | £3,061 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Moondance Foundation | 30 November 2023 | £50,244 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 19 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £313,952.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£114,300, 2 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£65,000, 2 grants
- Freemasons' Charity£52,500, 4 grants
- Department for Transport£38,163, 2 grants
- The National Lottery Community Fund£33,589, 5 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£9,900, 3 grants
- Making A Difference Locally£500, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Department for Transport | £7,363 | |
| 23 Jun 2025 | Freemasons' Charity | £20,000 |
| 7 Apr 2025 | Freemasons' Charity | £20,000 |
| 19 Mar 2025 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £50,000 |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,000 |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Making A Difference Locally | £500 |
| 18 Oct 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £5,000 |
| 25 Sept 2023 | Freemasons' Charity | £7,500 |
| 9 May 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,995 |
| 9 Mar 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,900 |
All 19 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 Jan 2023 | Freemasons' Charity | £5,000 |
| 24 Jun 2022 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £15,000 |
| 27 May 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,995 |
| 25 Aug 2017 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £64,700 |
| 15 Dec 2016 | Department for Transport | £30,800 |
| 11 Jan 2011 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £49,600 |
| 20 Aug 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,998 |
| 19 Sept 2006 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,276 |
| 21 Sept 2004 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,325 |
Trustees
14 trustees run the charity.
- Paul GriffithsChair
- Carol Avril Jones
- Caryn Cox
- Catherine Evans
- Emily Victoria Bristow
- Hadley Newman
- Helen Chloe Wilson
- James O'Connor
- Marc Aneurin Morgan Penny
- Nyah Coco Lowe
- Professor Jean Christine White
- Professor Nigel Rees
- Rev Alan Pierce-Jones
- Rhys Llewelyn Jenkins
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 12 October 2026, 19 days early | Received 12 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 7 October 2025, 24 days early | Received 7 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 September 2024, 31 days early | Received 30 September 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 27 October 2023, 4 days early | Received 27 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 20 September 2022, 41 days early | Received 20 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 250523
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 December 1966
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 11 MARCH 2004AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 11 MAY 2004AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 29 JAN 2019 AS AMENDED ON 18 MAR 2022AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 31 JAN 2024
- Company number
- 05071073This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.sjacymru.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.