Young Men's Christian Association Bargoed and District Branch
What it does
We provide facilities and activities for education, training, sports and other leisure activities with the object of improving the condition of life for the community. Activities are available in the day and evening and include activities for young people and adults including youth clubs, sporting clubs, education classes, health promotion and rehabilitation and exercise classes.
Its charitable purposes
FIRST, TO LEAD YOUNG MEN AND BOYS TO THE LORD JESUS CHRIST AND TO FULNESS OF LIFE IN HIM, SECONDLY, TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION FOR YOUNG MEN AND BOYS WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITION OF LIFE.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Caerphilly
Area of benefit in its governing document: Bargoed and District
Income and spending
In the year ending 4 April 2026, it had income of £119,020 and spent £133,807.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 April 2026 | £119,020 | £133,807 | Not reported | 48 |
| 4 April 2025 | £81,030 | £90,977 | Not reported | 50 |
| 4 April 2024 | £108,269 | £96,114 | Not reported | 32 |
| 4 April 2023 | £59,650 | £64,117 | Not reported | 34 |
| 4 April 2022 | £51,016 | £59,660 | Not reported | 28 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 133%, from £51,016 in the year to 4 April 2022 to £119,020 in the year to 4 April 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 112% of its income in the year to 4 April 2026. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 4 April 2025: £3,646 from 2 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 4 April 2025 | £3,646 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 4 April 2024 | £1,013 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 4 April 2023 | £1,913 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 4 April 2022 | £5,375 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 6 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £57,215.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 17 Apr 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £33,776 |
| 15 Sept 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,862 |
| 3 Sept 2013 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,930 |
| 15 Sept 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,763 |
| 19 May 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,284 |
| 29 Jun 2004 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,600 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Carol Julia Andrews
- Laura Green
- Megan Ashleigh Hooper Andrews
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 April 2026 | 4 February 2027 | Received 22 September 2026, 135 days early | Received 22 September 2026 |
| 4 April 2025 | 4 February 2026 | Received 18 November 2025, 78 days early | Received 18 November 2025 |
| 4 April 2024 | 4 February 2025 | Received 18 December 2024, 48 days early | Received 18 December 2024 |
| 4 April 2023 | 4 February 2024 | Received 10 January 2024, 25 days early | Received 10 January 2024 |
| 4 April 2022 | 4 February 2023 | Received 24 August 2022, 164 days early | Received 24 August 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 250969
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 9 January 1967
- Governing document
- MODEL CONSTITUTION YMCA ADOPTED 13 APRIL 1983 AS AMENDED BY SCHEME OF 4 MARCH 1987 AND BY RESOLUTION 24 APRIL 2007 AND 22 OCTOBER 2010.
- Council area of its contact address
- Caerphilly
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.