The Father Ignatius Memorial Trust
What it does
Optional Information
Its charitable purposes
FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF RELIGION AND THE PROMOTION IN THE WIDEST SENSE OF SPIRITUAL TEACHINGS AND THE TRUSTEES SHALL HOLD AND ADMINISTER THE PROPERTY HEREIN BEFORE DESCRIBED UPON THE FOLLOWING TRUSTS; A) TO PRESERVE MAINTAIN REPAIR AND IMPROVE THE FABRIC OF THE SAID ABBEY CHURCH AND THE TOMB OF FATHER IGNATIUS FORMING PART OF THE FABRIC OF SUCH CHURCH. B) TO MAINTAIN THE SAID ABBEY CHURCH AS AND FOR A PLACE OF RELIGIOUS WORSHIP BY MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC CONGREGATING THERETO AND IN FURTHERANCE OF THESE PURPOSES BUT NOT OTHERWISE THE TRUSTEES MAY PROMULGATE THE RELIGIOUS WRITINGS OF FATHER IGNATIUS AND MAY PERMIT THE SAID PROPERTY TO BE OPEN TO RELIGIOUS PILGRIMS AND VISITS BY CHRISTIANS OF ALL DENOMINATIONS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Restricted
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £6,739 and spent £10,282.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £6,739 | £10,282 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £2,002 | £1,840 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £2,476 | £3,461 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £1,334 | £3,289 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £1,588 | £1,074 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 324%, from £1,588 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £6,739 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 153% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £87,600, awarded in 2002.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 19 Mar 2002 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £87,600 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Andrew Christopher Knill
- Caroline Anne Woollard
- Dr Peter Llewellyn Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 25 June 2026, 128 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 15 June 2025, 138 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 6 October 2024, 25 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 12 November 2023, 12 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 26 October 2022, 5 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 253225
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 July 1967
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 10 JUL 1967
- Website
- www.fatherignatius.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.