The British Gynaecological Cancer Society
What it does
A scientific organisation devoted to the study and development of the field of gynaecological cancers
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE SCIENCE AND ART OF GYNAECOLOGICAL ONCOLOGY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
- Scotland
- Northern Ireland
Area of benefit in its governing document: National
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £553,663 and spent £644,384.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £553,663 | £644,384 | 1 | 50 |
| 31 December 2024 | £412,853 | £502,229 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 December 2023 | £329,576 | £333,422 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 December 2022 | £317,114 | £250,680 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 December 2021 | £219,000 | £131,500 | Not reported | 23 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 153%, from £219,000 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £553,663 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 116% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Eve Appeal gave £10,000 in the year to 31 December 2025, 2% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£527,008
- Investments£6,655
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 4 funders who gave £27,500 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eve Appeal | Trust, company or other | £10,000 | ||
| British Assoc. of Gynaecological Pathologists | Trust, company or other | £7,500 | £7,500 | |
| Eisai Ltd | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | £5,000 | |
| Peaches Womb Cancer Trust | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Merck Sharp & Dohme | Trust, company or other | £30,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
15 October 2025
Named by Peter Fox in the Senedd
…good progress for most of the commitments, but we found that key stakeholders didn't see it quite that same way. For instance, the British Gynaecological Cancer Society says there is still a long way to go. The Royal College of General Practitioners highlight that many changes are still in early sta…
15 May 2024
Named by Sarah Murphy in the Senedd
…ere because we wanted to make it clear that it was really urgent. If that's what the barrier is, then we take it back, because the British Gynaecological Cancer Society, Sioned Cash and Tenovus have said it just needs to be done—set a different time frame, but please do it. And then, Dirprwy Lywydd,…
15 May 2024
Named by Russell George in the Senedd
…e and how it will help improve gynaecological cancer waiting times and how will this transformation address the points made by the British Gynaecological Cancer Society about the need for services to be uniformly accessible and delivered across Wales? I'm going to leave my comments there, and I'll m…
27 April 2023
Named by Richard Peevor in the Senedd
I don't know whether we—. It's often, unfortunately for example—. There's an example with the English ovarian cancer audit. The British Gynaecological Cancer Society supported an audit into looking at outcomes of ovarian cancer in England, and I was the Welsh representative for the BGCS at the time,…
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Andrew James Phillips
- Bavita Rai
- Dr Nicholas James Wood
- Dr Nithya Darshini Guru Ratnavelu
- Professor Michael Wells
- Simon Christian Leeson
- Thomas Edward James Ind
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 18 October 2026, 13 days early | Received 18 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 12 October 2025, 19 days early | Received 12 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 28 October 2024, 3 days early | Received 28 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 1 December 2022, 31 days late | Received 1 December 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 290959
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 January 1985
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION OF THE SOCIETY, ADOPTED AT THE INAUGURAL MEETING 6TH OCTOBER 1984 AS AMENDED 6TH MAY 1988, AND 30TH APRIL 1994
- Website
- www.bgcs.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.