Registered charity 500879
Powys Talking Newspaper
What it does
Provides a talking Newspaper (tapes) to the Blind
Its charitable purposes
"TO RELIEVE THE BLIND, OR PARTIALLY BLIND, OR THOSE LABOURING UNDER SOME TEMPORARY OR PERMANENT INCAPACITY OR DISABILITY WHICH MAKES READING A STRAIN, BY THE PROVISION OF RECORDED TAPES."
Causes
- What it works on
- Disability
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Older people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 28 February 2026, it had income of £7,588 and spent £3,641.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28 February 2026 | £7,588 | £3,641 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2025 | £5,968 | £3,821 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 29 February 2024 | £3,084 | £4,230 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2023 | £3,864 | £3,265 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2022 | £4,515 | £3,899 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 68%, from £4,515 in the year to 28 February 2022 to £7,588 in the year to 28 February 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 48% of its income in the year to 28 February 2026. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- David Mark Lloyd
- Dorothy Jane Schofield
- Roger Charles Eagles
- Stephen Lunt
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 February 2026 | 28 December 2026 | Received 18 September 2026, 101 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2025 | 28 December 2025 | Received 16 June 2025, 195 days early | Not required |
| 29 February 2024 | 29 December 2024 | Received 8 August 2024, 143 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2023 | 28 December 2023 | Received 29 November 2023, 29 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2022 | 28 December 2022 | Received 17 October 2022, 72 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 500879
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 June 1971
- Governing document
- RULES ADOPTED 4 MARCH 1971 AS EMENDED BY A RESOLUTION DATED 14 AUGUST 1974
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.