Selsig Musical Theatre Society
What it does
Provision of training and participation in music and musical theatre.
Its charitable purposes
TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC IN THE ARTS AND SCIENCES AND IN PARTICULAR THE ART AND SCIENCE OF MUSIC BY THE PRESENTATIONS OF OPERA PERFORMANCES AND OTHER ACTIVITIES.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Rhondda
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £35,977 and spent £35,274.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £35,977 | £35,274 | Not reported | 45 |
| 30 June 2024 | £39,811 | £35,651 | Not reported | 34 |
| 30 June 2023 | £71,639 | £45,739 | Not reported | 45 |
| 30 June 2022 | £1,397 | £1,942 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2021 | £631 | £410 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 5,602%, from £631 in the year to 30 June 2021 to £35,977 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 June 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
8 June 2026
Named in a registered interest of Elyn Stephens, Member of the Senedd
Category: Voluntary record of Members’ other interests.
Information relevant to entry: Member and Auditor - Selsig Musical Theatre Society. I audit the accounts annually and present a report to the society committee.
Trustees
14 trustees run the charity.
- Matthew PreeceChair
- Dale Lawrence Evans
- Ellen Saye
- Emily Roberts
- Janice Daniels
- Joanne Huxton
- Maria Gibbs
- Nichola Prentice
- Rachel Thomas
- Robert Huxton
- Ron Evans
- Samantha Rogers
- Seren-Haf MacMillan
- Susan Huxton
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 13 August 2025, 260 days early | Received 13 April 2026 |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 9 April 2025, 21 days early | Received 10 April 2025 |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 4 August 2024, 96 days late | Received 4 August 2024 |
| 30 June 2022 | 30 April 2023 | Received 3 June 2023, 34 days late | Not required |
| 30 June 2021 | 30 April 2022 | Received 5 April 2022, 25 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 500942
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 January 1972
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 1947 AS AMENDED 16 JANUARY 1972 as amended on 17 Jul 2018
- Website
- www.selsig.net
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.