Whitland Town Hall
What it does
A centre for the benefit of the inhabitants of Whitland and further afield. Available for meetings, lectures, classes and for other forms of recreation and leisure time occupation; To contribute towards mental and physical health, to improve the quality of the social and cultural life of the community.
Its charitable purposes
A TOWN HALL FOR THE USE OF THE INHABITANTS OF WHITLAND WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS INCLUDING USE FOR MEETINGS LECTUES CLASSES AND OTHER FORMS OF RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION INCLUDING USE AS A LIBRARY WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Carmarthenshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Whitland
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £22,551 and spent £26,223.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £22,551 | £26,223 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2025 | £12,279 | £18,100 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £14,834 | £9,916 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2023 | £14,751 | £9,915 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2022 | £9,356 | £11,767 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 141%, from £9,356 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £22,551 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 116% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 8 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £35,151.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 2 Mar 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,150 |
| 15 Nov 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,850 |
| 27 Mar 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 24 Nov 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 10 Feb 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,860 |
| 15 Oct 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,468 |
| 20 Dec 2005 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,386 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
19 December 2022, Carmarthenshire
Named in an agenda item or minute of Homes and Regeneration Scrutiny Committee
UPDATE ON THE TEN TOWNS INITIATIVE
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Ron JenkinsChair
- Helen Ryan
- Sophie King
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 1 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 9 October 2026, 114 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 9 October 2026, 251 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 9 October 2026, 616 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 21 August 2024, 203 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 26 June 2023, 146 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 504650
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 February 1979
- Governing document
- SCHEME DATED 18 FEBRUARY 1998.
- Website
- www.carmarthenshirehalls.org.uk/hall.php?hall_id=17
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.