West Cross Community Association
What it does
Manage the West Cross Community Centre for the benefit of local residents, providing facilities for indoor sports (Bowls, Badminton, Aikido, Tai Chi), social functions(Dancing, club for disabled, pensioners' club, inexpensive lunches, discussion group, Bridge clubs).Also tap dance and ballet classes, health and fitness, facilities for local Councillor surgeries and private hire for parties, etc.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF WEST CROSS AND SURROUNDING AREA WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING WITH THE LOCAL AUTHORITY, VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATIONAL AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS. FOR FURTHER DETAILS, SEE CLAUSE 2 OF THE CONSTITUTION.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Area of benefit in its governing document: West Cross and the Surrounding Area
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £45,074 and spent £33,580.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £45,074 | £33,580 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £33,618 | £23,437 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2023 | £25,806 | £24,412 | Not reported | 8 |
| 31 March 2022 | £27,892 | £16,865 | Not reported | 6 |
| 31 March 2021 | £29,766 | £17,398 | Not reported | 10 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 51%, from £29,766 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £45,074 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 74% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £2,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £24,000 from 5 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Pamela ERASMUSChair
- David Jones
- Judy Pauline Jones
- Sara Elizabeth KEETON
- Timothy Alan HAWKES
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 3 November 2025, 89 days early | Received 3 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 10 November 2024, 82 days early | Received 10 November 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 2 March 2024, 31 days late | Received 2 March 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 15 November 2022, 77 days early | Received 15 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 14 January 2022, 17 days early | Received 14 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 508636
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 11 April 1979
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 30 MAY 1952 AMENDED 27 MARCH 1979. as amended on 27 Feb 2026
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.