Marshfield Village Hall
What it does
Marshfield Village Hall is a fully central heated hall with all facilities for hire, for the use of family functions, training and social events. With access to grass sports pitches, changing rooms with showers, a large hall with separate meeting rooms and a well equipped kitchen, Marshfield Village Hall can cater for most events including parties, clubs, public and private meetings.
Its charitable purposes
A VILLAGE HALL FOR THE USE OF THE INHABITANTS OF THE COMMUNITY OF MARSHFIELD WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION INCLUDING ITS USE FOR MEETINGS LECTURES AND CLASSES WITH THE OBJECTS OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
- Newport City
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Community of Marshfield
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £47,240 and spent £52,940.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £47,240 | £52,940 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2024 | £46,346 | £39,223 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2023 | £41,713 | £39,801 | Not reported | 22 |
| 31 March 2022 | £15,289 | £19,328 | Not reported | 1 |
| 31 March 2021 | £13,207 | £8,540 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 258%, from £13,207 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £47,240 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 112% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £5,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £10,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £9,063.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 6 Dec 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,284 |
| 17 Feb 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,541 |
| 12 Aug 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,238 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- David CollinsChair
- Antonia Cox
- Jayne Margaret Constance
- Karen Davies
- Nerys Pennell
- Suzanne Davies
- Timothy Charles Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 16 November 2025, 76 days early | Received 16 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 21 January 2025, 10 days early | Received 21 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 26 February 2024, 26 days late | Received 26 February 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 20 November 2022, 72 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 31 December 2021, 31 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 509170
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 September 1979
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 10 SEPTEMBER 1979
- Website
- www.marshfieldvillagehall.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.