Murchfield Community Association
What it does
Unchanged - manage a community centre owned by Vale of Glamorgan Council - on behalf of users and local residents
Its charitable purposes
(A) TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF DINAS POWS IN THE BOROUGH OF VALE OF GLAMORGAN WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX OR OF POLITICAL RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECRETION AND LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS. (B) TO ESTABLISH OR TO SECURE THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A COMMUNITY CENTRE AND TO MAINTAIN AND MANAGE OR TO CO-OPERATE WITH ANY LOCAL STATUTORY AUTHORITY IN THE MAINTENANCE AND MANAGEMENT OF SUCH A CENTRE FOR ACTIVITIES PROMOTED BY THE ASSOCIATION AND AS CONSTITUENT BODIES IN FURTHERANCE OF THE ABOVE OBJECT.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: Dinas Powis
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £24,940 and spent £21,200.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £24,940 | £21,200 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £40,743 | £45,885 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £24,875 | £20,214 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £23,579 | £17,598 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £39,520 | £19,613 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 37%, from £39,520 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £24,940 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 85% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £24,000 from 5 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2005, worth at least £6,212.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 3 Feb 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,224 |
| 29 Feb 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £659 |
| 18 Jan 2005 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,329 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 3 payments to this charity worth £18,098 between 20 December 2022 and 4 October 2023.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | £18,098 | 3 | 2022/23, 2023/24 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- John Richard FanshawChair
- Jane Sissons
- Judith Anderson
- Sharon Burke
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 3 September 2025, 150 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 10 October 2024, 113 days early | Received 10 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 1 November 2023, 91 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 6 October 2022, 117 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 26 October 2021, 97 days early | Received 6 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 510630
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 November 1980
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 6 MARCH 1980
- Website
- www.murchfield.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Vale of Glamorgan
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.