Leukaemia Research Appeal for Wales
What it does
To raise monies to fund research into the causes and effects of leukaemia
Its charitable purposes
TO RELIEVE PERSONS RESIDENT IN WALES SUFFERING FROM LEUKAEMIA AND ASSOCIATED BLOOD DISEASES BY ASSISTING AND PROMOTING THE RESEARCH WORK OF THE LEUKAEMIA UNIT OF THE HAEMATOLOGY DEPARTMENT AT THE UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL OF WALES CARDIFF AND SUCH OTHER UNITS FROM TIME TO TIME ESTABLISHED IN WALES OR SUCH INDIVIDUALS AS ARE ENGAGED IN RESEARCH INTO LEUKAEMIA AND ASSOCIATED BLOOD DISEASES. (FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 2 OF CONSTITUTION.)
Causes
- What it works on
- Health and saving lives
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £28,746 and spent £2,230.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £28,746 | £2,230 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £4,759 | £2,230 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,197 | £2,230 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £3,035 | £3,522 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £5,727 | £36,456 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 402%, from £5,727 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £28,746 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 8% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Jackie EdwardsChair
- Dr Chris Maciejewski
- Dr NICHOLA GALE LEWIS
- Simon Morgan Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 25 January 2026, 6 days early | Received 25 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 30 January 2025, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 25 January 2024, 6 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 26 January 2023, 5 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 26 January 2022, 5 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 511298
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 24 April 1981
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 23 FEBRUARY 1981
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.