The St Nicholas Community Association (Barry)
What it does
Provide a secure environment and facilities within St Nicholas Hall for the local community.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF BARRY AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD TOGETHER DEFINED BY THE THE BARUC AND ILLTYD WARDS WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID INHABITANTS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME WITH THE OBJECTS OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS. (FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 2 OF THE CONSTITUTION).
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: See Object
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £10,616 and spent £11,166.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £10,616 | £11,166 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2024 | £9,227 | £8,832 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £8,598 | £8,085 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £5,414 | £6,199 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £21,700 | £7,403 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 51%, from £21,700 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £10,616 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 105% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £20,000 from 4 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Jeffrey BraithwaiteChair
- Anne Reardon James
- Lynne Merrills
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 29 January 2026, 2 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 28 January 2025, 3 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 8 August 2024, 190 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 7 December 2022, 55 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 19 January 2022, 12 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 512848
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 29 June 1982
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 7 APRIL 1982 AS AMENDED ON 30 JUNE 1999
- Council area of its contact address
- Vale of Glamorgan
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.