The Welsh Schools' Rugby Union
What it does
The charity helps and educates school pupils by promoting, organising, and developing schools Rugby Union Football throughout Wales.
Its charitable purposes
TO HELP AND EDUCATE SCHOOL PUPILS THROUGHOUT THE PRINCIPALITY OF WALES THROUGH PARTICIPATION IN RUGBY UNION FOOTBALL SO TO DEVELOP THEIR PHYSICAL MENTAL AND SPIRITUAL CAPACITIES THAT THEY MAY BE HELPED TO GO TO FULL MATURITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND MEMBERS OF SOCIETY. (FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 2 OF THE CONSTITUTION)
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Principality of Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 May 2025, it had income of £157,196 and spent £170,420.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | £157,196 | £170,420 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 May 2024 | £157,196 | £170,420 | Not reported | 36 |
| 31 May 2023 | £180,852 | £198,164 | Not reported | 13 |
| 31 May 2022 | £174,991 | £129,986 | Not reported | 21 |
| 31 May 2021 | £8,000 | £8,472 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 1,865%, from £8,000 in the year to 31 May 2021 to £157,196 in the year to 31 May 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 108% of its income in the year to 31 May 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 May 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 May 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £90 between 19 December 2023 and 16 October 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monmouthshire County Council | £90 | 2 | 2023/24, 2025/26 |
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Brian Gwyn Hopkins
- David Michael Davies
- Lyn Howell
- Michael James Farley
- Michael Rein
- Roger Stokes
- Simon Elias
- Stephen Edward Hiscocks
- Stephen Lord
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | 31 March 2026 | Received 30 March 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 March 2026 |
| 31 May 2024 | 31 March 2025 | Received 7 April 2025, 7 days late | Received 7 April 2025 |
| 31 May 2023 | 31 March 2024 | Received 28 March 2024, 3 days early | Received 28 March 2024 |
| 31 May 2022 | 31 March 2023 | Received 27 March 2023, 4 days early | Received 27 March 2023 |
| 31 May 2021 | 31 March 2022 | Received 15 March 2022, 16 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 512895
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 20 July 1982
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION AND RULES ADOPTED 3 JULY 1982 AS AMENDED 30 JUNE 1983
- Website
- www.dewisant.pembroke.sch.uk/wsru
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.